Back to Articles

Kentucky's Hartline and Nebraska's Martinez Featured as Manning Award Watch List Additions

Wednesday, October 27, 2010

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, announced 10 additions to its 2010 Watch List on Monday. The winner will be announced after the bowls in January and will be honored at a banquet in New Orleans.

After announcing 33 quarterbacks to watch during the preseason, the Manning Award opted to increase its focus players based on the many outstanding performances during the first half of the year, however, every quarterback in the nation remains eligible to win the honor.

This summer, the Manning Award featured the 33 quarterbacks on its preseason watch list here: 
2010-11 Manning Award Watch List                                                    

For the remainder of the season, the Manning Award will profile the 10 Watch List additions starting with Kentucky's Mike Hartline and Nebraska's Taylor Martinez.

Mike Hartline Bio

Hartline and the Wildcats will head to Starkville, Miss. for an SEC showdown against the nationally ranked Mississippi State Bulldogs (No. 21 BCS) on Saturday, Oct. 30 at 6 p.m. CT on ESPNU.

Hartline has had back-to-back career games. He posted his second straight 300-yard game with a career-high 353 yards and four touchdowns vs. Georgia last week. His previous high was 349 yards against South Carolina on Oct. 16. Hartline currently ranks second in the SEC in passing yards per game (268.0) and is third in total offense (266.1 yards per game).

On the season, Hartline has completed 184-of-273 passes for 2,144 yards, 17 touchdowns and just four interceptions. Along the way, he became just the eighth player in UK history to reach 4,000 yards passing in his career. He now has 4,646, which ranks fifth on UK's all-time list. He needs 917 more to tie Bill Ransdell (1983-86) for fourth place.

Hartline looked impressive against undefeated Auburn, completing 23-of-28 passes for a career-best 82.1 percent, 220 yards and one touchdown. It was the best completion percentage for a UK quarterback against a conference opponent since Tim Couch hit 83 percent, 44-of-53, against Vanderbilt in 1998.

The senior is from Canton, Ohio and has a brother, Brian, who played at Ohio State and is entering his second season in the NFL as a wide receiver for the Miami Dolphins.  

Taylor Martinez BIO

Martinez and the 14th-ranked Huskers return to Memorial Stadium for a Big 12 North showdown with the No. 6 Missouri Tigers on Saturday afternoon at 2:30 p.m. CT on ABC. The winner will take a major step toward representing the North in the Big 12 Championship Game in early December.

Last week, Martinez completed 23-of-35 passes for 323 yards and five touchdowns. The five touchdown passes marked a career best for Martinez and tied for the second highest total in school history. Martinez's 323 passing yards are the most ever for a Nebraska freshman (Eric Crouch, 193 yards vs.

Arizona in 1998 Holiday Bowl), and the five touchdown passes were also a Nebraska freshman record.

Martinez also carried the ball 19 times for 112 yards, marking his fifth 100-yard rushing game of the season. His 435 yards of total offense was the third-highest total in NU history and broke his own Nebraska freshman record of 369 yards at Kansas State Sept. 25. His effort marked just the seventh 400-yard total offense game in NU history.

With 323 passing yards and 112 rushing yards, Martinez became the first Nebraska player to pass for 300 yards and rush for 100 yards. Martinez was also the first to pass for 200 and rush for 100 yards in a game.

On the season, Martinez, a Corona, Calif. native, has completed 66-of-111 passes for 1,046 yards with eight TDs and three INTs. He has rushed for 870 yards and 12 TDs.

Full release on Watch List additions here.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its seventh winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor - he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. Last year's winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history. McCoy was picked by the Cleveland Browns in the 2010 NFL Draft.