Back to Articles

TURN BACK THE CLOCK - 1962 and 1980

Monday, September 20, 2010

With Alabama battling Arkansas in a key SEC game this weekend, the Allstate Sugar Bowl is featuring a special "Double Turn Back the Clock" this week on Alabama and Arkansas have had two meetings in the Sugar Bowl Classic. The first match-up was in 1962 when Bear Bryant captured his first national title with Alabama, posting a 10-3 victory over Frank Broyles' Razorbacks. Then in 1980, Lou Holtz brought the Hogs back to New Orleans, however, Bryant prevailed once again for his final national title.

Click here for the 1962 recap.

Click here for the 1980 recap.

Click here for the full History section.