Back to Articles

No. 16 Oregon Wins Allstate Sugar Bowl Collegiate Classic

Saturday, September 18, 2010

No. 16 Oregon swept the 2010 Allstate Sugar Bowl Collegiate Classic held at Tulane's Fogelman Arena Sept. 17-18. The Ducks snapped Tulane's three-year winning streak in the event. Florida International took second in the event after a hard-fought five-set win over the host Green Wave on Saturday evening.

Oregon put itself in position to clinch the title by topping Tulane in straight sets on Friday. On Saturday, the Ducks posted back-to-back 3-1 victories over FIU and Sam Houston State to earn the Allstate Sugar Bowl Collegiate Classic title.

Friday, Sept. 17
10 a.m. - Tulane defeats Sam Houston State in opener
5 p.m. - FIU sweeps Sam Houston State
7 p.m. – Big points elude Tulane volleyball in loss to #16 Oregon

Saturday, Sept. 18
12 p.m. - No. 16 Ducks defeat FIU by 3-1 margin
6 p.m. - No. 16 Oregon wins Sugar Bowl title with 3-1 victory over Sam Houston State
8 p.m. – Tulane loses tough five-setter to FIU

Allstate Sugar Bowl Collegiate Classic All-Tournament Team
Amaris Genemaras, Tulane
Uma Trkulja, FIU
Natalia Valentin, FIU
Heather Meyers, Oregon
Ariana Williams, Oregon
Alaina Bergsma, Oregon (MVP)

For more information on the tournament follow this link to Tulane’s Volleyball homepage: