Back to Articles

Meet the Manning Finalists - Colt McCoy

Thursday, December 17, 2009

Colt McCoy (Texas, Senior) was named the 2009 Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year as he has completed 330-of-468 passes for 3,512 yards with 27 touchdowns and 12 interceptions this season. He rushed for another 348 yards and three scores. At 70.5, his completion percentage ranks third nationally. McCoy became the all-time winningest quarterback in NCAA history as he won his 43rd game as a starter against Kansas on Nov. 21.  He holds 47 school records including 16 career, 13 single-season, five single-game, six freshman and seven miscellaneous marks. His 13,244 career passing yards are sixth on the NCAA all-time list. McCoy is the first quarterback in major college football history to lead a team to four 10-win seasons and is also the first Longhorn signal-caller to lead Texas to consecutive 12-win seasons. McCoy will look to add a championship to his list of accolades as he and the Longhorns face top-ranked Alabama in the BCS National Championship, Jan. 7 on ABC at 7 p.m. CT.

Manning Award Finalists

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates' bowl performances.

The first five winners of the Manning Award reads like a Who's Who list at the quarterback position. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. Last season's winner was Florida's Tim Tebow, who is making his bid to become the first two-time winner of the honor this year.