Back to Articles

Meet the Manning Finalists - Case Keenum

Monday, December 14, 2009

Case Keenum (Houston, Junior) had a big day for the Cougars on Dec. 5 in the Conference USA title game, completing 56-of-75 passes for a title game record 527 yards and five touchdowns, but his team came up short, losing 38-32 to East Carolina. He was named the C-USA Most Valuable Player for 2009, and currently leads the Football Bowl Subdivision in total offense, with 429.3 yards per game. On the season, he has completed 468-of-659 passes for 5,449 yards with 43 touchdowns and just nine interceptions.  His 468 completions broke his own school record of 397 set in 2008. He also holds the school record for career touchdowns with 101, and has thrown for more than 500 yards on five occasions, which guided the Cougars to a national ranking in 2009. He became just the second player in FBS history to have recorded multiple 5,000 yard passing seasons; he had 5,020 yards in 2008 and his 5,449 yards this season is fourth most in FBS history. Houston will face Air Force in the Armed Forces Bowl on Dec. 31 at 11 a.m. CT on ESPN.

Manning Award Finalists

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates' bowl performances.

The first five winners of the Manning Award reads like a Who's Who list at the quarterback position. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. Last season's winner was Florida's Tim Tebow, who is making his bid to become the first two-time winner of the honor this year.