Indiana’s Michael Penix, Jr. Named Manning Award Quarterback of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (November 12, 2020) – Michael Penix, Jr., a sophomore at Indiana University, has been selected as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week. He earns the honor over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl’s Facebook contest.

Facebook Voting Results

Penix completed 30-of-50 passes for 342 yards and three touchdowns as he led the Hoosiers to a 38-21 Big Ten win over No. 23 Michigan, Indiana’s first win over the Wolverines since 1987. These stats marked career-highs in passing yards and touchdowns for the sophomore QB.

The Tampa, Fl., native, has now tossed multiple touchdowns in consecutive games (6 in the last two weeks combined). He has had multiple-touchdown throws in five career games. His 342 passing yards are the second-most for a Hoosier passer against Michigan (Ben Chappell 480 yards on Oct. 2, 2010).

Penix and the No. 10 Hoosiers head to East Lansing on Saturday to face Michigan State in an 11 a.m. CT ABC matchup.

Penix won this week’s award over Miami’s D’Eriq King and Malik Willis of Liberty. King completed 31-of-41 passes for 430 yards and five touchdowns, while also rushing for 105 yards. He collected his fourth career 400-yard/5-TD game and capped an impressive fourth-quarter rally with a 54-yard TD connection with 2:43 to go to lift the Hurricanes to a 44-41 road win over NC State in ACC action. Willis completed 20-of-30 passes for 217 yards and three touchdowns, while also rushing for 108 yards and a score. This marks his second 100/100 game of the season and the Flames grabbed a 38-35 road win over Virginia Tech to keep them undefeated at 7-0.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. Ten finalists will be selected and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 16 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) and the Southeastern Conference (Joe Burrow, Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) lead the way with five Manning Award honorees each, while and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) has had four Manning Award winners. LSU (Burrow and Russell) joins Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) and Texas (McCoy and Young) as the only schools with two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.