The James J. Corbett Award

The Corbett Award was created in 1967 and named in honor of the late James J. Corbett to commemorate his many contributions to intercollegiate athletics and specifically to the Sugar Bowl. At the time of his death, Mr. Corbett was the Athletic Director at Louisiana State University. These awards are presented annually to the most outstanding amateur male and female athletes in the State of Louisiana. The Corbett recipients are selected each year by members of the N.O. Sports Hall of Fame Committee, based on nominations submitted by the state’s sportswriters, sportscasters and sports information directors.

While the Committee didn’t began presenting separate Corbett Awards to the top male and female athletes in 2000, it did recognize both the top male and female amateur athletes each year. Those athletes are listed below the official Corbett Award winners. The group also recognized the state’s top amateur athletes before designating the Corbett Award in 1967.

Since its inception in 1967 (through 2021), Corbett Award winners include 19 NFL players, nine Major League Baseball players, four NBA players (including two Hall of Famers), 11 Olympians (including eight Gold Medal winners), three WNBA players and one PGA Tour star.

  • 2017-18: Armand Duplantis, Lafayette High School Track & Field (Olympic Gold)
  • 2017-18: Aleia Hobbs, LSU Track & Field (Olympic Silver)
  • 2000: Brad Cresse, LSU Baseball
  • 2000: Peta-Gaye Dowdie, LSU Track & Field (Olympian)
  • 1999: Tim Rattay, Louisiana Tech Football (NFL)
  • 1998: Shaun King, Tulane Football (NFL)
  • 1997: Brandon Larson, LSU Baseball (MLB)
  • 1996: Warren Morris, LSU Baseball (MLB)
  • 1995: Kerry Joseph, McNeese State Football (NFL)
  • 1994: Russ Johnson, LSU Baseball (MLB)
  • 1993: Todd Walker, LSU Baseball (MLB)
  • 1992: Shaquille O’Neal, LSU Basketball (NBA, Olympic Gold)
  • 1991: Shaquille O’Neal, LSU Basketball (NBA, Olympic Gold)
  • 1990: Esther Jones, LSU Track & Field (Olympic Gold)
  • 1989: Chris Jackson, LSU Basketball (NBA)
  • 1987: Marc Zeno, Tulane Football
  • 1986: Eun Jung Lee, Northeast Louisiana Basketball
  • 1985: Lauri Young, Northeast Louisiana Track & Field
  • 1984: Kim Mulkey, Louisiana Tech Basketball (Olympic Gold)
  • 1981: Pam Kelly, Louisiana Tech Basketball (WBB Hall of Fame)
  • 1979: Roch Hontas, Tulane Football
  • 1978: Charles Alexander, LSU Football (NFL)
  • 1977: Doug Williams, Grambling Football (NFL)
  • 1976: Terry Robiskie, LSU Football (NFL)
  • 1975: Robert Parish, Centenary Basketball (NBA Hall of Fame)
  • 1974: Terry Kieffer, UNO Baseball
  • 1973: Rodney Milburn, Southern Track & Field (Olympic Gold)
  • 1972: Bert Jones, LSU Football (NFL)
  • 1971: Rodney Milburn, Southern Track & Field (Olympic Gold)
  • 1970: Rick Kingrea, Tulane Football (NFL)
  • 1969: Pete Maravich, LSU Basketball (NBA Hall of Fame)
  • 1968: Pete Maravich, LSU Basketball (NBA Hall of Fame)

Amateur Athletes of the Year for Louisiana (non-Corbett Award winners)

  • 1999: Kim Willoughby, Assumption H.S. Volleyball
  • 1990: Walter Dean, Grambling State Football
  • 1987: Kristie Phillips, Gymnastics
  • 1986: Terrence Jones, Tulane Football
  • 1983: Kim Mulkey, Louisiana Tech Basketball (co-winner)
  • 1983: Michel Broussard, Vandebilt Catholic H.S. Softball (co-winner)
  • 1982: Kim Mulkey, Louisiana Tech Basketball
  • 1975: Pam Jiles, USA Track & Field
  • 1974: Liz Higgins, Diving Champion
  • 1971: Mrs. William R. Seay, Golf
  • 1970: Linda Tuero, Tennis
  • 1969: Linda Tuero, Tennis
  • 1968: Linda Tuero, Tennis
  • 1967: Linda Tuero, Tennis

Kristen Nuss (Courtesy of LSU Athletics)

LSU Stars Sweep Corbett Awards as State’s Top Amateur Athletes

LSU beach volleyball star Kristen Nuss and Tiger track and field standout JuVaughn Harrison have been selected as the winners of the Corbett Awards for the top female and male amateur athletes in the state of Louisiana for 2020-21. It is the 11th time that LSU has swept the honors since separate male and female awards were instituted in 2000. The duo are the 44th and 45th Tiger stars to earn the honor in the 55 years that it has been presented.

Nuss finished her LSU beach volleyball career with 139 victories, more than any other player in the history of college beach volleyball. She teamed with Tayn Loth to post a perfect 36-0 record, tying the best record by an undefeated pair on Court 1 ever and the pair was selected as the American Volleyball Coaches Association Beach Pair of the Year (the equivalent of National Players of the Year) as well as being All-Americans. Before Nuss and her classmates arrived at LSU, the Tigers had never made it to the NCAA Championship. Since they joined the program, LSU had not missed out on being one of the final eight teams invited to Gulf Shores, Ala., for the championship tournament.

Harrison, a native of Huntsville, Ala., became the first individual to win the long jump and high jump at an NCAA Championship at the 2019 outdoor meet. He matched that accomplishment at this year’s NCAA Indoor Championships and then did it again at the NCAA Outdoor Championships. He’s recognized as the best to ever do the long jump/triple jump combo in WORLD history and was named the National Men’s Field Athlete of the Year by the USTFCCCA. He followed up his NCAA accomplishments by winning both events at the United States Olympic Trials to become the first American since Jim Thorpe in 1912 to qualify for the Olympic Team in those two events.

Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA Bowl Season Cup Footer Logo