Allstate Sugar Bowl Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame

In January of 2000, the Sugar Bowl Committee took over the title sponsorship of the New Orleans Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame. Included in the Bowl’s sponsorship of the chapter is the administration of an annual awards banquet held each spring to honor deserving high school football scholar athletes from the metropolitan area. Since 2000, the Sugar Bowl has recognized nearly 400 student-athletes while distributing over $310,000 in scholarship money. Sugar Bowl Member Archie Manning is the national chairman of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame. To become a member of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame, please click here.

Thirty-six local high school football players were recognized for their achievements in the classroom and on the football field at the 2018 Awards Luncheon held on April 3 at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The honorees were chosen from a group of nominated talented scholar athletes from the New Orleans area. Archie Manning, the national chairman of the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame, recognized each of the 36 student athletes at the event. From that group of 36, six were selected to receive Allstate Sugar Bowl Scholarships for $10,000 each. The scholarship winners were chosen based on essays submitted after being notified of their selection as scholar-athletes.

The six scholarship winners were Blake Baird (Pearl River High School), Cameron Hammers (Pope John Paul II Catholic High School), Charles Hayward (West Jefferson High School), Christopher Rabensteiner (Archbishop Hannan High School), Aaron Saulino (Fisher High School) and Zachary Wiedow (East Jefferson High School). Rod West, the President of the Sugar Bowl Committee, recapped their accomplishments and referenced their winning essays prior to presenting each scholarship winner with a commemorative check.

In addition to the high school honorees, two local men were recognized for their contributions to the community and the sport of football.

Alan Freeman, SMG’s general manager for the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, was presented with the Contributions to Amateur Football Award, which is given annually to an individual for his or her effort to promote the game, preserve its history and ensure its future. Since moving to New Orleans with SMG in 2007, Freeman has become a prominent figure on the amateur football scene. The Mercedes-Benz Superdome hosts the Allstate Sugar Bowl as well as the Allstate Sugar Bowl LHSAA Football Championships each year. The Sugar Bowl is recognized as one of the top collegiate football games in the country and has doubled as a College Football Playoff Semifinal twice in the last four years, while the LHSAA Championships see nine state titles decided over a three-day span in early December. In addition, the facility will be the host venue for the 2020 College Football Playoff National Championship.

Former New Orleans Saints standout Steve Gleason was presented with the Distinguished American Award, which is presented each year to an individual who has set the standard for a life of service to the community and has made a significant contribution to the betterment of amateur football. Gleason played for the Saints from 2000-2008 and will always be remembered for his blocked punt against the Falcons on the night the Superdome reopened for after Hurricane Katrina. In January 2011, Steve was diagnosed with ALS, considered a terminal neuromuscular disease. Beyond his faith that there is a solution for healing, it is his mission to show that patients can not only live but thrive after this diagnosis. In doing so, he hopes to inspire others to do the same. With that in mind, Steve and his wife, Michel, formed “Team Gleason” to help him accomplish those goals and more. When Steve was diagnosed, he famously said there will be “No White Flags.” This has become the Team Gleason mantra. No goal is more important to Steve and Michel than finding a solution for ALS, so they can share many, many years together parenting their young son, Rivers.

Allstate Sugar Bowl Chapter of the NFF/CFHOF Special Awards

 Contributions to Amateur Football
 Distinguished American
 2017  Marty Mulé, Sportswriter/Author  Marshall Faulk, Carver High/NFL
 2016  Edwin Murray, Louisiana Senator  Darryl Berger, Tulane/New Orleans
 2015  Karl Benson, Sun Belt Conference  Jack Laborde, Sugar Bowl Committee
 2014  Jim Henderson, Sports Broadcaster  Dennis Lauscha, New Orleans Saints
 2013  J.T. Curtis, John Curtis School  Elliott Hill, Nike North America
 2012  Vince Gibson, Tulane University  Elliott Laudeman, Sugar Bowl Committee
 2011  Bill Curl, Louisiana Superdome  Doug Hertz, Tulane University
 2010  Bill Bumgarner, Sportswriter  Mickey Loomis, New Orleans Saints
 2009  Wright Waters, Sun Belt Conference  Doug Thornton, SMG (Louisiana Superdome)
 2008  Jerry Romig, Saints/Sugar Bowl  Tony Biagas, New Orleans City Park
 2007  Skip Bertman, Louisiana State  Drew Brees, New Orleans Saints
 2006  NA  NA
 2005  Rick Dickson, Tulane University  Jerry Ebbert, New Orleans Homeland Security
 2004  Archie Manning, NFF/Sugar Bowl  Peter Finney, Times-Picayune
 2003  Don Wattigny, Edna Karr H.S.  Tommy Henry, LHSAA
 2002  NA  NA
 2001  Ken Trahan, Sports Reporter  Gene Newton
 2000  Ed Daniels, WGNO-TV  Tom Benson, New Orleans Saints
 1999  Edward Bravo  Paul Buckley, Hilton
 1998  Leonard Reis  James Wilson, Tulane University
 1997  Bobby Conlin, Brother Martin HS  William Ross
 1996  Jack Salter, Covington HS  Larry Lundy
 1995  Rev. John T. Curtis, Sr., Curtis School  Jim Mora, New Orleans Saints
 1994  Roy Glapion, N.O. Public Schools  Tony Reginelli, Newman HS
 1993  Otis Washington, St. Aug HS  Pat Taylor
 1990  NA  Bob Roesler, Times-Picayune
 1986  Shelby Fredrichs, Southern Yacht Club  Tony Porter
 1984  Champ Clark, Sportswriter  NA
 1984  Capt. Joe Katz, New Orleans  Kent McWilliams
 1983  Ben Weiner, Tulane University  NA
 1983  George Kalil, N.O. QB Club  Stan Kotteman, Tulane/Official/QB Club
 1982  Hap Glaudi, Sports Reporter  Kenny Konz
 1981  Armand Kitto  Hank Lauricella, Louisiana Legislator
 1980  John Lynch  Jim Taylor
 1979  A.B. Nicholas  NA
 1979  Pie Dufour, Writer  John Petitbon
 1978  NA  Charles Cusimano
 1978  Marshall David, Sugar Bowl  Andy Pilney, Tulane University
 1977  Theo Maumus, Sugar Bowl  NA
 1977  Sam Corenswet, Sugar Bowl  Hank Lauricella, Louisiana Legislator
 1976  Cliff Kern, Sugar Bowl  Dr. Rix Yard, Tulane University
 1971  Ike Carriere  Lester Lautenschlaeger
Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo