Manning Award Watch List, 2008 2017-04-25T08:57:15+00:00

Manning Award Watch List, 2008(August 28, 2008) — The Allstate Sugar Bowl has announced the 2008-09 list of players to watch for the fifth annual Manning Award, given to college football’s top quarterback. The list is comprised of 46 players who were selected based on their performance in the 2007 season.

Making this year’s Manning Award watch list are:
C.J. Bacher (Northwestern, SR)
Todd Boeckman (Ohio State, SR)
Rhett Bomar (Sam Houston St., SR)
Sam Bradford (Oklahoma, SO)
Tom Brandstater (Fresno State, SR)
Hunter Cantwell (Louisville, SR)
Rudy Carpenter (Arizona State, SR)
Jimmy Clausen (Notre Dame, SO)
Chase Clement (Rice, SR)
Jonathan Crompton (Tennessee, JR)
Chase Daniel (Missouri, SR)
Nate Davis (Ball State, JR)
Joe Ganz (Nebraska, SR)
Sean Glennon (Virginia Tech, SR)
Matt Grothe (South Florida, JR)
Max Hall (BYU, JR)
Cullen Harper (Clemson, SR)
Graham Harrell (Texas Tech, SR)
Chase Holbrook (New Mexico St., SR)
Brian Hoyer (Michigan State, SR)
Will Hudgens (Memphis, SR)
Brian Johnson (Utah, SR)
Kaipo-Noa Kaheaku-Enhada (Navy, SR)
Dan LeFevour (Central Michigan, JR)
Corey Leonard (Arkansas State, JR)
Jake Locker (Washington, JR)
Nate Longshore  (California, SR)
Tyler Lorenzen (Connecticut, SR)
Colt McCoy (Texas, JR)
Stephen McGee (Texas A&M, SR)
Ben Olson (UCLA, SR)
Curtis Painter (Purdue, SR)
Todd Reesing (Kansas, JR)
Zac Robinson (Oklahoma St., JR)
Mark Sanchez (USC, JR)
Riley Skinner (Wake Forest, JR)
Rusty Smith (Florida Atlantic, JR)
Matthew Stafford (Georgia, JR)
Tim Tebow (Florida, JR)
Mike Teel (Rutgers, SR)
Willie Tuitama (Arizona, SR)
Drew Weatherford (Florida State, SR)
Pat White (West Virginia, SR)
Juice Williams (Illinois, JR)
Drew Willy (Buffalo, SR)
John Parker Wilson (Alabama, SR)

“The Sugar Bowl Committee is proud to again work with the Mannings on the presentation of this prestigious award,” said Sugar Bowl CEO Paul Hoolahan.  “Furthermore, we are excited about the talented group of quarterbacks we will have the opportunity to watch this fall.”

The Manning Award was created by the Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton, and Eli Manning, and will be presented to the recipient at an annual ceremony following the holiday bowl season.

Archie was the starting quarterback at Ole Miss for three years, and his many accomplishments led the Rebels to retire his jersey, No. 18. Peyton spent his college passing days at the University of Tennessee, while Eli followed in his father’s footsteps under center for Ole Miss.

All three of the Mannings were named the Southeastern Conference Player of the Year during their collegiate careers. (Archie, 1969, referred to as SEC Most Valuable Player during that time; Peyton, 1997; Eli, 2004).

The Manning Award is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates’ bowl performance. The winner will be determined by a selected panel of national media covering college football, as well as each of the Mannings.

“These young men are very talented and will no doubt represent themselves and their respective universities well this fall,” Archie Manning said. “We look forward to watching the great things this group of quarterbacks will accomplish and will eagerly await the opportunity to honor one of these young men early in 2009.”

The previous four recipients of the Manning Award reads like a Who’s Who list at the quarterback position. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award in 2007, capped by his performance in the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

Last year, Boston College’s Matt Ryan took home the honor and went on to be the third overall pick in the NFL draft. All three previous recipients were also chosen as top 10 overall draft picks by NFL teams.

Finalists for the award will be announced prior to the start of the bowl season.

Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo