Manning Award Watch List, 2007 2017-04-25T08:59:21+00:00

Manning Award Watch List, 2007August 7, 2007
The Allstate Sugar Bowl has announced the names of the players to watch for the Manning Award, given to college football’s top quarterback.

Making this year’s Manning Award watch list are:

  • Eric Ainge (Tennessee)
  • Taylor Bennett (Georgia Tech)
  • John David Booty (USC)
  • Colt Brennan (Hawaii)
  • Alex Brink (Washington St.)
  • Brian Brohm (Louisville)
  • Rudy Carpenter (Arizona St.)
  • Brandon Cox (Auburn)
  • Chase Daniel (Missouri)
  • Nate Davis (Ball St.)
  • Dennis Dixon (Oregon)
  • Matt Flynn (LSU)
  • Matt Grothe (South Florida)
  • Graham Harrell (Texas Tech)
  • Chad Henne (Michigan)
  • Rocky Hinds (UNLV)
  • Chase Holbrook (New Mexico St.)
  • Sam Keller (Nebraska)
  • Dan LeFevour (Central Michigan)
  • Nate Longshore (California)
  • Colt McCoy (Texas)
  • Blake Mitchell (South Carolina)
  • Anthony Morelli (Penn St.)
  • Curtis Painter (Purdue)
  • Bobby Reid (Oklahoma St.)
  • Matt Ryan (Boston College)
  • Paul Smith (Tulsa)
  • Matt Stafford (Georgia)
  • Adam Tafralis (San Jose St.)
  • Tim Tebow (Florida)
  • Patrick White (West Virginia)
  • Juice Williams (Illinois)
  • Justin Willis (SMU)
  • John Parker Wilson (Alabama)
  • Andre Woodson (Kentucky)

“We are excited about this year’s Manning Award Watch List class,” said Raymond Jeandron Jr., President of the Allstate Sugar Bowl. “In our season of crowning college football’s best team, it will be another honor to announce college football’s best quarterback in our home city following the Allstate BCS National Championship Game.”

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton, and Eli Manning, and will be presented to the recipient following the holiday bowl season. It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates’ bowl performances.

The winner will be determined by a selected panel of national media covering college football, as well as each of the Mannings.

“We have another talented group of quarterbacks to watch from coast to coast,” Archie Manning said. “We’ve had some phenomenal players earn this award so far and this year should be no exception.”

The first three winners of the Manning Award reads like a Who’s Who list at the quarterback position. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Last season, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award, capped by his performance in the Allstate Sugar Bowl. All three players went on to become first round draft picks in the NFL.

Finalists for the award will be announced prior to the beginning of the bowl season.

Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo