Manning Award Finalists, 2006 2017-04-25T09:01:29+00:00

Manning Award Finalists, 2006November 22, 2006
The Sugar Bowl Committee announced today the names of the eleven finalists for the Manning Award to be presented to the nation’s best college quarterback. Those finalists include:

  • Erik Ainge (Tennessee)
  • John David Booty (USC)
  • Colt Brennan (Hawaii)
  • Brian Brohm (Louisville)
  • Chad Henne (Michigan)
  • Chris Leak (Florida)
  • Nate Longshore (California)
  • Brady Quinn (Notre Dame)
  • JaMarcus Russell (LSU)
  • Troy Smith (Ohio State)
  • Patrick White (West Virginia)

The Manning Award was created in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning and will be presented to the recipient following the holiday bowl season. It is the only quarterback award which takes into consideration the candidates bowl performances.

The winner will be determined by a select panel of national media covering college football, as well as each of the Mannings.

“Each of these student – athletes also provide today’s aspiring youth with a roadmap for their own success,” said Sugar Bowl CEO Paul Hoolahan. “The Sugar Bowl is most grateful to the Manning family for helping pay tribute to these young men.”

“We are proud of the accomplishments all of these outstanding quarterbacks,” said Archie Manning. “We are especially proud of how they each led their respective teams to success and an outstanding season.”

Last year’s winner of the Manning Award was Vince Young. Now in his rookie season with the Tennessee Titans, Young led his undefeated Texas team to a national championship. He completed 30 of 40 passes for 267 yards and gained 200 yards rushing against defending national champion USC in the 2006 Rose Bowl. He finished the season completing 212 of 325 passes for 3,036 yards and 26 touchdowns. He rushed for 1,050 yards. The 2004 winner was Matt Leinart.

Sugar Bowl Footer Logo SEC NCAA College Football Playoff BGA FBA Cup Footer Logo