Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield Snags Manning Award Quarterback of the Week Honor

NEW ORLEANS (November 16, 2017) – Baker Mayfield, a senior from Oklahoma, has been selected as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week for the third time this season and fifth time overall. He earns the win over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl’s Facebook contest.

Facebook Voting

Mayfield completed 18-of-27 passes for 333 yards and three touchdowns, while also rushing for 50 yards, to lead his team to 533 total yards against the nation’s sixth-ranked defense as the Sooners cruised to a 38-20 Big 12 victory over No. 6 TCU. Mayfield currently leads the FBS in Total Quarterback Rating, completion percentage, passing efficiency rating, yards per pass attempt and yards per completion.

The Austin, Texas, native has thrown a touchdown pass in a school-record 36 consecutive games (every contest of his OU career), which is now tied for the longest streak in Big 12 history. After being a finalist in each of the last two years, the senior is once again in the thick of the Heisman Trophy race.

Mayfield and the fourth-ranked Sooners will travel to Memorial Stadium to face Kansas on Saturday at 2:30 p.m. CT on ESPN. Oklahoma has won 12 straight in the series.

Mayfield’s top competitors this week were Demry Croft of Minnesota and Ole Miss’ Jordan Ta’amu. Croft completed 9-of-15 passes for 105 yards and set the Minnesota record for rushing yards by a quarterback with 183 (on 10 carries), including three touchdowns, as he led the Gophers to their most points in a Big Ten game since 2006 in a 54-21 win over Nebraska. Ta’amu completed 28-of-36 passes for 418 yards and three touchdowns, while also rushing for two touchdowns, as he led the Rebels to a 50-22 non-conference win over Louisiana.

Manning Award

Ten finalists for the Manning Award will be announced on Thursday, November 30 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 13 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 11 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) lead the way with four Manning Award wins each, while Texas is the only school with two different winners (Colt McCoy and Vince Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-one players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2016 season.