Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield Earns Manning Award Quarterback of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (November 2, 2017) – Baker Mayfield, a senior from Oklahoma, has been selected as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week for the second time this season and fourth time overall. He earns the win over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl’s Facebook contest.

Facebook Voting

Mayfield completed 22-of-34 passes for 281 yards and four touchdowns, while also rushing for a score in a 49-27 Big 12 win over Texas Tech. Mayfield, who matched his season-best for touchdown passes in Saturday’s game, has thrown a touchdown pass in a school-record 34 consecutive games (every contest of his OU career).

The Austin, Texas, native leads the FBS in ESPN’s total quarterback rating (90.6) and ranks fifth in touchdown passes (23) and eighth in passing yards (2,628). After being a finalist in each of the last two years, the senior is once again in the thick of the Heisman Trophy race.

Mayfield and the fifth-ranked Sooners have a prime opportunity to prove themselves once again on a national stage this weekend – and they only need to travel 81 miles to do it as they will take on archrival Oklahoma State, ranked No. 11 in the country, in the annual Bedlam rivalry game. Kickoff of the critical Big 12 showdown is set for 3 p.m. CT and the game will be televised on FS1.

Mayfield’s top competitors this week were J.T. Barrett of Ohio State and Nebraska’s Tanner Lee. Barrett completed 33-of-39 passes for 328 yards and four touchdowns, while also rushing for a game-high 95 yards; he went 13-of-13 for 170 yards in the fourth quarter to erase a 15-point fourth-quarter deficit in the Buckeyes’ thrilling 39-38 win over No. 2 Penn State. Lee, a New Orleans native, completed 32-of-50 passes for 431 yards and two touchdowns, including a pair of fourth-quarter scores, as the Cornhuskers came from behind to beat Purdue, 25-24, on the road in Big Ten action.

Manning Award

Ten finalists for the Manning Award will be announced on Thursday, November 30 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 13 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 11 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) lead the way with four Manning Award wins each, while Texas is the only school with two different winners (Colt McCoy and Vince Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-one players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2016 season.