Nine Quarterbacks Named Manning Stars of the Week


Nine Quarterbacks Named Manning Stars of the Week park

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named nine quarterbacks as its "Stars of the Week." College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week's eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Matt Barkley, USC
(23-of-38, 372 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT)
Barkley hooks up a 75-yard touchdown connection on the first play of the season to get USC rolling in a 49-10 wipeout of Hawaii.

Tyler Bray, Tennessee
(27-of-41, 333 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT)
Bray tallies his seventh career 300-yard game to lead the Volunteers to a key non-conference victory over N.C. State, 35-21.

Sam Durley, Eureka College
(34-of-52, 736 yards, 5 TDs)
Durley led Division III Eureka to a thrilling 62-55 victory over Knox by setting an NCAA record for passing yards. He tossed a pair of scoring strikes in the final two minutes of the game with the last coming with 20 clicks to go to give the Red Devils their first lead of the afternoon. He also set school records for all-time passing yardage, attempts and passing touchdowns in the game.

Braxton Miller, Ohio State
(14-of-24, 207 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT)
The sophomore adds 161 rushing yards, a school record for a quarterback, and another touchdown in a 56-10 blowout of Miami (Ohio) for Urban Meyer's Buckeye debut.

Taylor Martinez, Nebraska
(26-of-34, 354 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT)
Martinez, known more for his running skills than his passing skills, registers a career-high in passing yards in leading the Huskers to a 49-20 victory over Southern Miss.

Ryan Nassib, Syracuse
(44-of-65, 470 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT)
Nassib throws four second-half touchdowns and obliterates his own school record for completions (29), but it's not enough for the Orange, who fall to Northwestern, 42-41.

Matt Scott, Arizona
(30-of-46, 387 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT)
Scott sets his career-high in passing yards, including a 10-yard scoring strike in overtime to give the Wildcats a 24-17 win over Toledo in the debut for coach Rich Rodriguez.

Geno Smith, West Virginia
(33-of-37, 340 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT)
Smith also runs for 65 yards and another score in a 69-34 crushing of state-rival Marshall as he becomes the Mountaineers all-time leader in touchdown passes and completions.

Tyler Tettleton, Ohio
(31-of-41, 324 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT)
Tettleton throws for two second half touchdowns and runs for another as the Bobcats come from behind to upend Penn State, 24-14, on the road.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its ninth winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn's Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. This past season's honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins).