Fourteen NFL First-Round Draft Picks Have Allstate Sugar Bowl Connections

NEW ORLEANS (April 27, 2020) – Fourteen of the 32 players selected in the first round of the 2020 NFL Draft had connections to the Allstate Sugar Bowl while 36 players who were on Allstate Sugar Bowl rosters, including nine first-round picks, were selected in the Draft overall. Over the last five years, 177 Sugar Bowlers have been selected in the NFL Draft.

The No. 1 overall pick in this year’s Draft (selected by the Cincinnati Bengals), LSU quarterback Joe Burrow, was recognized as the Allstate Sugar Bowl’s 2019 Manning Award winner as the top quarterback in the nation. He is the third straight Manning Award winner to be drafted No. 1 (joining former Oklahoma stars Baker Mayfield and Kyler Murray) and the sixth overall (joining Mayfield, Murray, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Jameis Winston).

Nine of this year’s first-round picks played in either the 2017, 2018 or 2019 Sugar Bowls.

Three first-rounders were Louisiana high school football stars, and more recently LSU stars, who played in Allstate Sugar Bowl/LHSAA football state championships. Justin Jefferson (No. 22, Minnesota Vikings) led Destrehan High School to the Class 5A state semifinals in 2016 at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome; Patrick Queen (No. 28, Baltimore Ravens) won the 2014 Class 3A state championship with Lithonia High School; Clyde Edwards-Helaire (No. 32, Kansas City Chiefs) was the MVP of the Class 5A state championship game as he led Catholic High School to victory in 2015.

Auburn’s Noah Igbinoghene (No. 30, Miami Dolphins) also has Sugar Bowl connections. As a high schooler at Hewitt-Trussville High School in Alabama, Igbinoghene won the long jump at the 2017 Allstate Sugar Bowl Track & Field Classic. Igbinoghene was not the only standout Sugar Bowl Track & Field alum to be selected in the draft – LSU’s Kristian Fulton was recognized as the Most Outstanding Track Performer at the 2016 event. Fulton, from Archbishop Rummel High School in Metairie, La., won the 110-meter and 300-meter hurdles as well as the long jump that year.

The 177 Sugar Bowlers (only includes players on Sugar Bowl rosters, not Manning Award winners or participants in other Sugar Bowl events) selected in the last five NFL Drafts include 40 first-rounders (nine this year, eight in 2019, five in 2018, eight in 2017 and 10 in 2016). Prior to the 36 picks in this year’s Draft, the Sugar Bowl saw 40 picks last year, 35 alums selected in 2018, 32 in 2017 and 34 in 2016.

In the 2020 draft, Alabama led the way with ten Sugar Bowlers drafted, including four going in the first round. Georgia, which played in the 2019 and 2020 Allstate Sugar Bowls, had seven players drafted, and Clemson, 2018 Allstate Sugar Bowl Playoff Semifinal participants, had seven Sugar Bowl alums drafted.

Allstate Sugar Bowlers in the 2020 NFL Draft

Name School Sugar Bowl(s) NFL Team Round
Andrew Thomas Georgia 2019 New York Giants First (4)
Tua Tagovailoa Alabama 2018# Miami Dolphins First (5)
Derrick Brown Auburn 2017 Carolina Panthers First (7)
Isaiah Simmons Clemson 2018 Arizona Cardinals First (8)
Jedrick Wills Alabama 2018 Cleveland Browns First (10)
Henry Ruggs III Alabama 2018 Las Vegas Raiders First (12)
Jerry Jeudy Alabama 2018 Denver Broncos First (15)
A.J. Terrell Clemson 2018 Atlanta Falcons First (16)
Isaiah Wilson Georgia 2019 Tennessee Titans First (29)
Tee Higgins Clemson 2018 Cincinnati Bengals Second (33)
D’Andre Swift Georgia 2019, 2020 Detroit Lions Second (35)
Xavier McKinney Alabama 2018 New York Giants Second (36)
Marlon Davidson Auburn 2017 Atlanta Falcons Second (47)
Trevon Diggs Alabama 2018 Dallas Cowboys Second (51)
Jalen Hurts Alabama 2018% Philadelphia Eagles Second (53)
Raekwon Davis Alabama 2018 Miami Dolphins Second (56)
Denzel Mims Baylor 2020 New York Jets Second (59)
Brandon Jones Texas 2019 Miami Dolphins Third (70)
Neville Gallimore Oklahoma 2017 Dallas Cowboys Third (82)
Terrell Lewis Alabama 2018 Los Angeles Rams Third (84)
Anfernee Jennings Alabama 2018 New England Patriots Third (87)
Devin Duvernay Texas 2019 Baltimore Ravens Third (92)
Tanner Muse Clemson 2018 Las Vegas Raiders Third (100)
John Simpson Clemson# 2018 Las Vegas Raiders Fourth (109)
Solomon Kindley Georgia 2019, 2020 Miami Dolphins Fourth (111)
James Lynch Baylor 2020 Minnesota Vikings Fourth (120)
K’Von Wallace Clemson 2018 Philadelphia Eagles Fourth (127)
Daniel Thomas Auburn 2017 Jacksonville Jaguars Fifth (157)
Collin Johnson Texas 2019 Jacksonville Jaguars Fifth (165)
Jake Fromm Georgia 2019, 2020 Buffalo Bills Fifth (167)
Bravvion Roy Baylor 2020 Carolina Panthers Sixth (184)
Charlie Woerner Georgia 2019, 2020 San Francisco 49ers Sixth (190)
Prince Tega Wanogho Auburn 2017 Philadelphia Eagles Sixth (210)
Clay Johnston Baylor 2020 Los Angeles Rams Seventh (234)
Tremayne Anchrum Clemson 2018 Los Angeles Rams Seventh (250)
Tae Crowder Georgia 2019, 2020 New York Giants Seventh (255)

# On team but did not participate in Bowl
% Transferred to Oklahoma following the 2018 season

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 28 national champions, 96 Hall of Fame players, 50 Hall of Fame coaches and 18 Heisman Trophy winners in its 86-year history. The 86th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, will will double as a College Football Playoff Semifinal, is schedule to be played on January 1, 2021. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.6 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors nearly 100,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.7 billion into the local economy in the last decade.