Thirty-Five Allstate Sugar Bowl Participants Selected in 2018 NFL Draft

Thirty-Five Allstate Sugar Bowl Participants Selected in 2018 NFL Draft

NEW ORLEANS (April 30, 2018) – Thirty-five players who were on Allstate Sugar Bowl rosters, including five first-round picks, were selected in the 2018 NFL Draft. Baker Mayfield, the No. 1 overall pick from the University of Oklahoma, was the Miller-Digby Award winner as the Most Outstanding Player in the 2017 Allstate Sugar Bowl. Mayfield was also the winner of the 2017 Manning Award, presented to the top collegiate quarterback in the nation by the Sugar Bowl. He is the fourth Miller-Digby Award winner and the fourth Manning Award winner to be selected No. 1 in the NFL Draft.

Over the last three years, 101 Sugar Bowlers have been selected in the NFL Draft – 32 in 2017 and 34 in 2016.

Alabama led the way with 12 players drafted – the most by any SEC team in history. Seven of those 12 were members of the Crimson Tide for both its 2015 and 2018 Allstate Sugar Bowl appearances. Four Tide players went in the first round, including Da’Ron Payne (No. 13 overall) – Payne was selected as the Defensive MVP of the 2018 Sugar Bowl after dominating in the trenches and snagging a key third-quarter interception. He lined up at fullback on the ensuing play and caught his first career touchdown pass as well.

Clemson, which also played in the 2018 Allstate Sugar Bowl, had three players drafted. In addition to Mayfield, Oklahoma, the 2017 Sugar Bowl winner, had four other players selected. Auburn, Oklahoma’s opponent in 2017, had four players’ names called in the Draft. The 2016 Sugar Bowl participants, Ole Miss and Oklahoma State, each had four players drafted. Ohio State, which lost to Alabama in the 2015 Playoff Semifinal at the Allstate Sugar Bowl, had four players from that squad selected.

Other Miller Digby Award winners that were drafted No. 1 overall were JaMarcus Russell (LSU, #1 in 2007), Bo Jackson (Auburn, #1 in 1986) and Billy Cannon (LSU, #1 in 1960).

In addition to Allstate Sugar Bowl participants, Marcus Davenport from UTSA, the first-round pick of the New Orleans Saints, is the grandson of Dr. Artis M. Davenport, a member of the Sugar Bowl’s Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame.

Allstate Sugar Bowlers in the 2018 NFL Draft

Name School Sugar Bowl(s) NFL Team Round
Baker Mayfield Oklahoma 2017 Cleveland Browns First (#1)
Minkah Fitzpatrick Alabama 2018 Miami Dolphins First (#11)
Da’Ron Payne Alabama 2018 Washington Redskins First (#13)
Rashaan Evans Alabama 2018, 2015 Tennessee Titans First (#22)
Calvin Ridley Alabama 2018 Atlanta Falcons First (#26)
Braden Smith Auburn 2017 Indianapolis Colts Second (#37)
Kerryon Johnson Auburn 2017 Detroit Lions Second (#43)
Breeland Speaks Ole Miss 2016 Kansas City Chiefs Second (#46)
James Washington Oklahoma State 2016 Pittsburgh Steelers Second (#60)
Carlton Davis Auburn 2017 Tampa Bay Buccaneers Second (#63)
Tyquan Lewis Ohio State 2015 Indianapolis Colts Second (#64)
Mason Rudolph Oklahoma State 2016 Pittsburgh Steelers Third (#76)
Sam Hubbard Ohio State 2015 Cincinnati Bengals Third (#77)
Orlando Brown Oklahoma 2017 Baltimore Ravens Third (#83)
Mark Andrews Oklahoma 2017 Baltimore Ravens Third (#86)
Ronnie Harrison Alabama 2018 Jacksonville Jaguars Third (#93)
Dorian O’Daniel Clemson 2018 Kansas City Chiefs Third (#100)
Jalyn Holmes Ohio State 2015 Minnesota Vikings Fourth (#102)
Da’shawn Hand Alabama 2018, 2015 Detroit Lions Fourth (#114)
Anthony Averett Alabama 2018, 2015 Baltimore Ravens Fourth (#118)
Marquis Haynes Ole Miss 2016 Carolina Panthers Fourth (#136)
Tre Flowers Oklahoma State 2016 Seattle Seahawks Fifth (#146)
Ogbonnia Okoronko Oklahoma 2017 Los Angeles Rams Fifth (#160)
Daniel Carlson Auburn 2017 Minnesota Vikings Fifth (#167)
Jamarco Jones Ohio State 2015 Seattle Seahawks Fifth (#168)
Jordan Wilkins Ole Miss 2016 Indianapolis Colts Fifth (#169)
JK Scott Alabama 2018, 2015 Green Bay Packers Fifth (#172)
Deon Cain Clemson 2018 Indianapolis Colts Sixth (#185)
Ray-Ray McCloud Clemson 2018 Buffalo Bills Sixth (#187)
Shaun Dion Hamilton Alabama 2018, 2015 Washington Redskins Sixth (#197)
Bradley Bozeman Alabama 2018, 2015 Baltimore Ravens Sixth (#215)
Marcell Ateman Oklahoma State 2016 Oakland Raiders Seventh (#228)
Bo Scarbrough Alabama 2018 Dallas Cowboys Seventh (#236)
Joshua Frazier Alabama 2018, 2015 Pittsburgh Steelers Seventh (#246)
Rod Taylor Ole Miss 2016 Cincinnati Bengals Seventh (#252)

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 28 national champions, 93 Hall of Fame players, 49 Hall of Fame coaches and 18 Heisman Trophy winners in its 84-year history. The 85th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, featuring top teams from the Big 12 and the SEC, will be played on January 1, 2019. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.6 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors nearly 100,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.5 billion into the local economy in the last decade.