Nebraska Rallies for Allstate Sugar Bowl Intercollegiate Women’s Golf Championship

NEW ORLEANS (March 17, 2021) – Kate Smith fired a final-round 70 to capture her first career collegiate title and lead the Nebraska women’s golf team to the title of the Allstate Sugar Bowl Intercollegiate Golf Championship on Tuesday at English Turn Golf and Country Club. The 11th annual event, hosted by Tulane University and featuring top women’s golf teams from around the country, began on Sunday and featured three rounds of 18 holes over the three days.

Allstate Sugar Bowl Golf

With Nebraska firing on nearly all cylinders, the Huskers overcame a two-stroke deficit heading into the final round to claim a seven-stroke win over runner-up Texas State. The Big Red posted a season-best team tournament total of 884 (+20), while Texas State finished at 891 (+28). The hosts from Tulane took third at 900 (+36), while Chattanooga finished fourth at 906 (+42). Rutgers rounded out the top five at 914 (+50).

“This was a total team effort,” Nebraska Coach Lisa Johnson said. “Not only did we win, but we finished strong in tough conditions today. The course played longer today due to rain last night and windier conditions. We put on a solid display of ball-striking.”

Smith, a fifth-year senior from Detroit Lakes, Minn., carded her best round of the tournament with her two-under-par 70 on the 6,280-yard layout of the English Turn Golf and Country Club. She finished with a season-best three-round total of 215 (-1) to take medalist honors. She also withstood challenging playing conditions and a furious charge from Tulane’s Carlota Palacios, who scorched the course with 64 (-8) to finish one shot back at 216. Smith and Palacios were the only two golfers to produce rounds better than par on Tuesday.

“This win for Kate was a long time coming,” Johnson said. “She made some clutch birdies early in her round on some tough holes. Kate maintained great composure coming down the stretch. We are all so proud of her.”

Palacios’ sensational final round for the Green Wave set the program record for the lowest single round. The Vitoria, Spain, native logged pars on holes 18 and one before birdieing three of her last four holes. Palacios recorded four strokes on the par-5 second hole to start the hot streak. She then parred the par-3 third and reeled off birdies on the par-4 fourth and fifth holes to wrap up her record-breaking round.

The event featured 13 teams from eight different states and eight different conferences. It also featured individual golfers from 26 different countries: Austria, Canada, Chile, China, Columbia, Ecuador, England, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, The Phillipines, Poland, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United States and Zambia.

Allstate Sugar Bowl Intercollegiate
New Orleans, La.
English Turn Golf & Country Club
Par 72, 6,280 Yards
March 14-16, 2021

Final Team Results
1. Nebraska – 294-302-288=884 (+20)
2. Texas State – 296-298-297=891 (+27)
3. Tulane – 308-307-285=900 (+36)
4. Chattanooga – 303-304-299=906 (+42)
5. Rutgers – 301-310-303=914 (+50)
6. Wisconsin – 314-304-298=916 (+52)
7. Louisiana Monroe – 308-307-304=919 (+55)
8. Central Arkansas – 310-308-302=920 (+56)
9. SMU – 314-304-304=922 (+58)
10. McNeese State – 314-315-299=928 (+64)
11. Southern Mississippi – 312-313-305=930 (+66)
12. Seton Hall – 310-316-310=936 (+72)
13.  Loyola (New Orleans) – 323-313-332=968 (+104)

Final Individual Leaderboard
1. Kate Smith, Nebraska – 71-74-70=215 (-1)
2. Carlota Palacios, Tulane – 78-74-64=216 (E)
3. Beatriz Barrios, Chattanooga – 72-75-73=220 (+4)
4.  Kirsten Baete, Nebraska – 73-76-72=221 (+5)
T5. Elin Kumlin, Central Arkansas – 76-74-72=222 (+6)
T5. Marine Griffaut, Texas State – 73-72-77=222 (+6)
7. Federica Tavelli-Westerlund, Texas State – 72-77-74=223 (+7)
8. Bobbi Stricker, Wisconsin – 75-75-74=224 (+8)
9. Carolina Rotzinger, McNeese State – 76-74-75=225 (+9)
T10. *Daozeng Liu, Tulane – 76-77-73=226 (+10)
T10. Sasikarn Somboonsup, Texas State – 82-72-72=226 (+10)
T10. Jennifer Rosenberg, Tulane – 76-78-72=226 (+10)
T10. Maeve Rossi, Rutgers – 73-74-79=226 (+10)
T10. Geraldine Wong, Texas State – 74-78-74=226 (+10)
T10. *Noramol Nuchsila, Texas State – 76-72-78=226 (+10)
T10. Merche Corbacho, Southern Mississippi – 76-75-75=226 (+10)

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 28 national champions, 99 Hall of Fame players, 51 Hall of Fame coaches and 19 Heisman Trophy winners in its 87-year history. The 2022 Allstate Sugar Bowl, which will feature top teams from the SEC and the Big 12, is scheduled to be played on January 1, 2022. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.6 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors thousands of student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.7 billion into the local economy in the last decade.