Louisiana Schools Rise to Titles at Allstate Sugar Bowl National Prep Classic

Scotlandville’s Tai’Reon Joseph. Photo by Wally Porter.

WESTWEGO, La. (January 4, 2020) – Four Louisiana high schools swept the four championships at the 2020 Allstate Sugar Bowl National Prep Classic this weekend. The two top honorees were Scotlandville High School, which won the Boys National Bracket and LaGrange High School which captured the Girls Platinum Bracket title. Also earning championships were KIPP-Booker T. Washington High School from New Orleans, which won the Boys State Bracket and Huntington (Shreveport) High School, which won the Girls Gold Bracket.

Official Tournament Website

Allstate Sugar Bowl Basketball

Boys’ National Bracket
Scotlandville, the three-time defending Division state champion, posted a 4-0 record in the 16-team national bracket, which included teams from Alabama, Florida, Illinois, Kentucky, Pennsylvania and South Carolina, as well as Louisiana. The Hornets won the title with an impressive 70-56 championship game victory over Tampa (Fla.) Catholic as senior Tai’Reon Joseph scored 25 points, including four three-pointers. Senior Carvell Teasett added 16 points which Reece Beekman, a Virginia signee, collected 10 points on route to being named tournament MVP. Tampa Catholic was led by 6-9 senior Johni Broome, who had 30 points, including a 17-point first quarter, but the Hornets closed the game on a 15-4 run to clinch the victory.

Girls’ Platinum Bracket
LaGrange High School had a very impressive run in the 16-team girls platinum bracket. The Lady Gators won their first two games easily before holding off previously unbeaten St. Thomas Aquinas 50-48 in the semifinals. In the championship game, they rolled to a 57-42 win over three-time Louisiana Division I champ John Curtis. Aasia Sam scored eight points in a big first quarter and finished with 19 total, while Jeriah Warren, the Most Outstanding Player in the tournament, finished with 15 points and seven rebounds. Tulane signee Jerkaila Jordan scored 25 points and had seven rebounds to lead Curtis.

Boys’ State Bracket
A 10-0 run to close the third quarter all but iced the Boys State Bracket title for KIPP-Booker T. Washington from New Orleans. The Lions rolled to a 70-51 win over Dunham High School as Coryell Pierce scored 17 points. Kyran Ratliff finished with 14 points, eight rebounds and three blocks and was named the Most Valuable Player of the bracket. Michael Johnson added 14 points. Dunham was led by 23 points from Carlos Stewart while Salle Wilson tallied 18 points with eight boards.

Girls’ Gold Bracket
Huntington High used a strong closing run to defeat Zachary High School for the girls’ gold bracket championship. A three-pointer by Osha Cummings gave the Broncos a 42-41 lead early in the fourth quarter and they closed with a 7-0 burst to clinch the title. Junior Taylor Bell scored 23 points with 10 rebounds and was named the bracket’s MVP. The loss snapped a 15-game winning streak for Zachary.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl National Prep Classic started with eight teams in 2011. It featured 63 teams in 2020 including 10 out-of-state participants.

In addition, the tournament organizers, Friends of Prep Sports LLC, awarded five $1,500 scholarships to deserving student athletes in the tournament. This year’s winners were Kayla Henning (Evanston Township, Ill.), Madison Hill (Ponchatoula, La.), Eugene Brown III (Southwest DeKalb, Ga.), Kentrell Garnett (Baton Rouge Catholic) and Nadir Barron (Math, Civics and Sciences High in Pa.).

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 28 national champions, 93 Hall of Fame players, 50 Hall of Fame coaches and 18 Heisman Trophy winners in its 86-year history. The 87th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, which will double as a College Football Playoff Semifinal, will be played on January 1, 2021. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.6 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors nearly 100,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.5 billion into the local economy in the last decade.