Michigan's Denard Robinson and Oklahoma State's Brandon Weeden Featured Manning Watch List Additions


Michigan’s Denard Robinson and Oklahoma State’s Brandon Weeden Featured Manning Watch List Additions

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, announced 10 additions to its 2010 Watch List on Oct. 25. The winner will be announced after the bowls in January and will be honored at a banquet in New Orleans.

After announcing 33 quarterbacks to watch during the preseason, the Manning Award opted to increase its focus players based on the many outstanding performances during the first half of the year, however, every quarterback in the nation remains eligible to win the honor.

Click here to see the preseason Watch List

For the remainder of the season, the Manning Award will profile the 10 Watch List additions.
Stephen Garcia, South Carolina
Mike Hartline, Kentucky
Taylor Martinez, Nebraska

Bryant Moniz, Hawai‘i
Dan Persa, Northwestern
Taylor Potts, Texas Tech

Michigan’s Denard Robinson and Oklahoma State’s Brandon Weeden will be the focus this week.

Denard Robinson Bio

Robinson and the Wolverines (7-3, 3-3 Big Ten) will welcome No. 6 Wisconsin (9-1, 5-1 Big Ten) to Ann Arbor on Saturday at 11 a.m. on ESPN.

Robinson set the Big Ten record for most rushing yards by a quarterback with 1,417 and needs 78 more to set the NCAA record for rushing yards by a quarterback. He is second nationally in total offense (340.7 avg.), lists third in rushing (141.7 avg.) and is 14th in pass efficiency (157.6 rating).

Last week in the second quarter at Purdue, Robinson set the Michigan season record for total offense. He has accounted for 3,407 yards, breaking John Navarre’s old mark of 3,240 yards, set in 2003.

Robinson, a sophomore from Deerfield Beach, Fla., has completed 131-of-207 passes for 1,990 yards with 14 TDs and nine interceptions. He has 12 rushing scores.

Brandon Weeden BIO

Weeden and 10th-ranked Oklahoma State (9-1, 5-1 Big 12) will travel to face Kansas (3-7, 1-5 Big 12) on Saturday at 11 a.m. on Fox Sports Net.

Weeden leads the nation in passing yards with 3,391 and is second in touchdown passes with 27. He is the Big 12’s most efficient passer with a 159.36 rating. He is third in the nation in total offense and the Cowboys’ offense as a whole leads the nation.

For the season, Weeden has completed 258-of-384 passes for 3,391 yards with 27 TDs and 10 interceptions.

The junior from Edmond, Okla., has tossed at least one TD pass in all 10 games this season and is completing 67.2 percent of his passes.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its seventh winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. Last year’s winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history. McCoy was picked by the Cleveland Browns in the 2010 NFL Draft.