Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week park

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its "Stars of the Week." College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 9 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week's eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Matt Barkley (USC)
26-of-34, 323 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT
Barkley leads USC, which is not eligible for postseason play, to a 24-point third-quarter lead over fourth-ranked Oregon and the Trojans hang on for the 38-35 win in their biggest game of the year.

Jared Barnett (Iowa State)
31-of-58, 376 yards, 3 TDs, 2 INT)
Barnett, who also leads the Cyclones with 84 rushing yards, directs Iowa State to a shocking upset of second-ranked and undefeated Oklahoma State, 37-31, in double overtime for the Cyclones first win over a Top-Five opponent.

Colby Cameron (Louisiana Tech)
25-of-45, 356 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT
Cameron throws for three touchdowns in the final 8:30 of the game as the Bulldogs erase a 17-point deficit to shock fellow WAC-frontrunner Nevada on the road and put in the driver's seat for the conference championship.

Robert Griffin, III (Baylor)
21-of-34, 479 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT
Griffin sets school records for passing yards and total offense (551) as he leads the Bears to their first-ever win over Oklahoma, throwing for the game-winning touchdown with 28 seconds to go to secure the school's victory over its highest-ranked opponent since 1985.

Chandler Harnish (Northern Illinois)
26-of-36, 338 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT
Harnish, who also rushes for 181 yards to finish with a school-record 519 yards of total offense, drives the Huskies to the tying score with 2:46 to go and the winning score with 8 seconds left, completing a comeback from a 17-point second-half deficit as they defeat Ball State, 41-38.

Denard Robinson (Michigan)
11-of-18, 179 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT
Robinson, who shows off his dual-threat ability with 84 rushing yards and two scores on the ground, leads the Wolverines to a big win over 16th-ranked Nebraska, 45-17, to keep Michigan in line for a possible BCS bowl bid.

Tyler Tettleton (Ohio)
18-of-27, 194 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT
Tettleton also rushes for 128 yards and a score as he leads the Bobcats to the game-winning score as time expired in a 29-28 victory over Bowling Green which clinched the MAC East title.

Tyler Wilson (Arkansas)
32-of-43, 368 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT
Wilson completes a school-record 32 passes for 368 yards to lead Arkansas to its seventh straight victory, a 44-17 blowout of SEC West rival Mississippi State.

Connor Halliday, a freshman from Washington State, was last week's Manning Award Player of the Week. A native of Spokane, Wash., Halliday led the Cougars to a 37-27 upset over Pac-12 South-leading Arizona State.  After entering the game on WSU's third possession, the freshman passed for 494 yards and four touchdowns with no interceptions to set both the Washington State and the Pac-12 record for freshman passing yardage. His passing total was also the second-highest in school history, the highest total by a Pac-12 quarterback this season and the 10th-best passing total in conference history.  In addition to earning the Manning Award weekly honor, Halliday was named the Bank of the West Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Week for his performance.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its eighth winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Last year saw Auburn's Cameron Newton earn the award, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers.