Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week park

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its "Stars of the Week." College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 9 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week's eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Alex Carder (Western Michigan)
38-of-59, 548 yards, 7 TDs, 0 INT
Carder threw for a school-record 548 yards (second-most in MAC history) and seven touchdowns (ties MAC record) while also adding a rushing score but it wasn't enough in a wild 66-63 loss to Toledo.

Robert Griffin III (Baylor)
22-of-29, 312 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT
Trailing 24-3 entering the fourth quarter, Griffin (121 rushing yards) runs for a 49-yard score, then throws for two more to force overtime, where he throws for the game-winner.

Connor Halliday (Washington State)
27-of-36, 494 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT
Seeing his first extensive playing time at quarterback, Halliday sets a WSU and Pac-12 record for freshman passing yards with 494 and leads the Cougars to a 37-27 upset of Arizona State, which led the Pac-12 South.

Chandler Harnish (Northern Illinois)
16-of-26, 294 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT
Harnish throws for two long TDs (56 yards and 79 yards) and posts his fourth 100-yard rushing day of the year to become the first NIU quarterback to run for 1,000 yards in a season since 1990 as the Huskies remain atop the MAC West with a 45-14 win over Bowling Green.

Collin Klein (Kansas State)
17-of-27, 281 yards, 1 TD, 1 INT
Klein throws for a career-high 281 yards and also runs for 103 yards and five touchdowns, including the final one in the fourth overtime to lift the Wildcats to a 53-50 over Texas A&M.

Aaron Murray (Georgia)
14-of-18, 224 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT
Murray sets the Georgia record for TD passes in a season with 27 while leading the Bulldogs to a critical SEC victory over then 20th-ranked Auburn.

Casey Pachall (TCU)
24-of-37, 473 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT
Pachall, who throws for a career-best 473 yards, connects on a 25-yard touchdown pass with 1:05 to go, then is successful on the two-point conversion, which allows the Horned Frogs to upend fifth-ranked Boise State, 36-35.

Jonathan Perry (UAB)
29-of-48, 410 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT
Trailing 35-17, Perry, who adds 47 rushing yards, rallies the Blazers to 24 straight points, directing his team to the game-winning score with 1:36 to go, to lift UAB to its second win of the year.

Colby Cameron, a junior from Louisiana Tech, was last week's Manning Award Player of the Week. A native of Newbury Park, Calif., Cameron led the Bulldogs to a 41-21 victory over Fresno State.  The junior passed for a career-high 376 yards and four touchdowns with no interceptions as Louisiana Tech had 400 yards of total offense in the first-half alone. Cameron was hot from the beginning with two of his four touchdowns in the first-quarter, putting Tech ahead, 14-0. The second-quarter proved to be no different as the Bulldogs went on to score 20 more points.  Things cooled off in the second-half, but it was far too late for a Fresno State comeback.  Cameron has now led the Bulldogs (6-4) to five consecutive wins as they remain in the hunt for the WAC title with a 4-1 league mark.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its eighth winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Last year saw Auburn's Cameron Newton earn the award, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers.