Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week park

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its "Stars of the Week." College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 9 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week's eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Colby Cameron (Louisiana Tech)
19-of-33, 376 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT
Cameron throws for a career-high 376 yards and four touchdowns to lead the Bulldogs to their fourth straight win and keep them alive in the WAC title chase with a 41-21 road win over Fresno State.

Austin Dantin (Toledo)
20-of-33, 322 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT
Dantin, who adds a rushing touchdown to his impressive stats, leads the Rockets to a go-ahead touchdown with 4:16 to go, but it's too early as it gives Northern Illinois time to score the winning touchdown in a crazy 63-60 loss.

Nick Fanuzzi (Rice)
30-of-43, 405 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT
Fanuzzi, making his first start of the season, throws two of his three touchdowns inside the final eight minutes and helps Rice to produce 671 yards of offense, third-most in school history, as the Owls come from behind to upend UTEP, 41-37.

Robert Griffin, III (Baylor)
27-of-41, 406 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT
Griffin throws for over 400 yards for the third straight game and leads the offense to a school record of 697 yards as the Bears are able to hold off a fourth-quarter Missouri comeback to win, 42-39, over the Tigers.

Chandler Harnish (Northern Illinois)
17-of-26, 265 yards, 6 TDs, 0 INT
Harnish, who also rushes for a team-best 133 yards, throws a 4-yard touchdown strike with 19 seconds left to lift the Huskies to a wild 63-60 win over bitter rival Toledo in a battle of MAC West Division frontrunners.

Case Keenum (Houston)
39-of-44, 407 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT
Keenum, who also rushes for a pair of touchdowns in a 56-13 blowout of UAB, becomes the NCAA's all-time passing yardage leader (17,212 yards) while leading the Cougars to their first 9-0 start in school history.

Kriss Proctor (Navy)
4-of-6, 127 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT
In just one-half of play while battling a dislocated elbow, Proctor averages 21.2 yards-per-attempt and also rushes for 36 yards and two touchdowns as he lifts Navy to a 42-14 win over Troy, snapping the Midshipmen's six-game losing streak.

Brandon Weeden (Oklahoma State)
36-of-46, 502 yards, 4 TDs, 2 INT
Weeden leads the Cowboys to victory and matches the best start in school history as he throws for a school-record 502 yards in a game that came down to the wire, coming out on top over No. 14 Kansas State, 52-45.

Brett Smith, a true freshman quarterback from Wyoming, was last week's Manning Award Player of the Week. A native of Salem, Ore., Smith led the Cowboys to a 30-27 victory over San Diego State, passing for a career-high 341 yards, including two touchdown passes while also rushing for two scores.  The Cowboys scored all 30 of their points in the first-half and were able to hold off the Aztecs in the fourth-quarter to remain perfect in Mountain West play. Smith was also named the Mountain West Conference Co-Offensive Player of the Week for his performance against the Aztecs.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its eighth winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Last year saw Auburn's Cameron Newton earn the award, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers.