Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week park

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its "Stars of the Week." College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 9 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week's eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

James Franklin (Missouri)
16-of-24, 198 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT
Franklin, who also rushes for 97 yards and a pair of scores, lifts Missouri to an overtime upset win over nationally-ranked Texas A&M, 38-31.

Landry Jones (Oklahoma)
35-of-47, 505 yards, 5 TDs, 2 INT
Jones throws for a school-record 505 yards with five TDs to move into first place for Oklahoma career TDs with 90 as the Sooners crush any national championship hopes for Kansas State with a 58-17 victory over the previously undefeated Wildcats.

Case Keenum (Houston)
24-of-37, 534 yards, 9 TDs, 1 INT
Keenum sets the FBS record for career touchdowns with five and then adds on four more for good measure, for a total of nine TDs, as the Cougars crush Rice, 73-34, in a heavy down-pour in Houston.

Andrew Luck (Stanford)
29-of-40, 330 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT
Luck leads four late scoring drives to lift the Cardinal over USC in a triple-overtime thriller at the Coliseum, keeping Stanford alive for a spot in the national championship.

Brett Smith (Wyoming)
25-of-36, 341 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT)
Smith also runs for a pair of touchdowns as he leads the surprising Cowboys to a 30-27 road victory over San Diego State to improve to 5-2 on the season.

Tino Sunseri (Pittsburgh)
29-of-42, 419 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT
Sunseri throws for a career-high 419 yards with two touchdowns while running for another score, leading the Panthers to a 35-20 victory over UConn, putting Pitt back in the conference race.

Tevin Washington (Georgia Tech)
4-of-9, 60 yards, 0 TD, 1 INT
Washington runs for 176 yards, the most ever by a Yellow Jackets quarterback, and broke the two longest runs of his career with 46- and 56-yard runs, in an upset victory over Clemson, 31-17, to cripple the Tigers' national title hopes.

Tyler Wilson (Arkansas)
27-of-43, 316 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT
Wilson sets a school record for consecutive passes without an interception, with 176 and counting, and converts a fourth-quarter two-point conversion to tie the game, followed by directing the game-winning drive midway through the final quarter.

Tajh Boyd from Clemson was last week's Manning Award Star of the Week, the fourth time this year he collected the honor. The sophomore completed 27-of-46 passes for 367 yards and tied the school record with five touchdowns, while also adding a rushing score, to lead Clemson to a 59-38 victory over North Carolina. It was the fourth 300-yard game for the standout signal-caller. After a tight first half, Boyd and the Tigers exploded for a 35-point third quarter. In addition to the Manning honor, Boyd was selected for the Capital One Performance of the Week award and the ACC Offensive Back of the Week honor for his stellar performance against the Tar Heels.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its eighth winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Last year saw Auburn's Cameron Newton earn the award, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers.