Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week park

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its "Stars of the Week." College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 9 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week's eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Tajh Boyd (Clemson)
27-of-46, 367 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT
Boyd ties a school record with five TD passes and adds a rushing TD as he finishes with his fourth 300-yard of the season in a 59-38 victory over North Carolina. 

Zach Collaros (Cincinnati)
26-of-41, 389 yards, 3 TDs, 2 INT
Collaros throws for two fourth-quarter touchdowns, then caps the game-winning drive by running for go-ahead TD with 20 seconds left in a 37-34 win which keeps the Bearcats atop the Big East.

Kirk Cousins (Michigan State)
22-of-31, 290 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT
Cousins leads the Spartans to a sensational finish in an upset of sixth-ranked Wisconsin, throwing a 44-yard Hail Mary with no time remaining to clinch the 37-31 win.

Dominique Davis (East Carolina)
40-of-45, 372 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT
Davis sets an NCAA record by completing 36 straight passes, including all 26 of his first-half passes, and then drives the Pirates to the game-winning score with three minutes remaining in a 38-35 win over Navy.

Seth Doege (Texas Tech)
33-of-52, 441 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT
Doege tallies his third 400-yard game of the year and more importantly, he leads the four-touchdown underdog Red Raiders to a shocking 41-38 win over No. 3 Oklahoma, snapping the Sooners' 39-game home-winning streak.  

Case Keenum (Houston)
24-of-28, 376 yards, 6 TDs, 0 INT
Keenum continues to pile up big numbers as his strong performance in a blowout of Marshall includes him becoming the all-time NCAA total offense leader while the Cougars remain perfect.

Collin Klein (Kansas State)
12-of-19, 195 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT
Klein throws for a career-high 195 yards and also rushes for92 yards, including three touchdowns to keep the Wildcats perfect on the year with a dominant 59-21 victory over state-rival Kansas.

Ryan Nassib (Syracuse)
24-of-32, 229 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT
Nassib throws four touchdown passes to lead the Orange to an upset victory over No.15 West Virginia as Syracuse has one of its best performances of the season.

Last week saw Clemson star Tajh Boyd snag his third Manning Award Player of the Week honor of the season. The sophomore standout completed 26-of-38 passes for 269 yards and four touchdowns to lead the Tigers to a second-half comeback over Maryland. Trailing 28-10 late in the first half and 35-17 in the third quarter, Boyd responded to the 18-point deficit with a 13-yard TD pass to make it 35-24. Both teams then scored field goals, followed by another Clemson TD with a 2-point conversion to cut the Terrapins' lead to 38-35 going into the fourth quarter.  In the fourth quarter, Boyd sealed the game with an 80-yard drive ending with a 12-yard touchdown pass with 11:26 left on the clock.  The 18-point comeback was the second largest in Clemson history.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its eighth winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Last year saw Auburn's Cameron Newton earn the award, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers.