Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week park

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its "Stars of the Week." College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 9 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week's eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Austin Davis, Southern Miss
(20-of-22, 284 yards, 2 TD, 0 INT)
Davis directs touchdown drives on nine of 13 attempts and runs for a touchdown while setting a school-record for completion percentage in leading the Golden Eagles to a 63-35 blowout of Navy to improve to 5-1.

Zac Dysert, Miami (Ohio)
(24-of-37, 342 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT)
Dysert comes to life for the RedHawks, closing the game with three straight touchdowns as Miami erases a 28-14 deficit to pick up their first win of the year, 35-28, over Army.

Landry Jones, Oklahoma
(31-of-50, 367 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT)
Jones picks apart the defense of the 11th-ranked team in the nation, registering his fourth 350-yard game of the year as the Sooners crush Texas, 55-17, in the Red River Rivalry.

Andrew Luck, Stanford
(26-of-33, 370 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT)
Luck throws for a season-high 370 yards and three more touchdowns in just over three quarters of action to extend the nation's longest winning streak to 13 with a 48-7 win over Pac-12 newcomer Colorado.

Connor Shaw, South Carolina
(26-of-39, 311 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT)
Making his second career start, Shaw completes 26-of-39 passes for 311 yards and four touchdowns as South Carolina posts its largest-ever margin of victory in an SEC game.

Geno Smith, West Virginia
(27-of-45, 449 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT)
Smith tallied his second 400-yard game of the year as he lifts the Mountaineers after a slow start with a 23-point third quarter on route to a 43-16 win over UConn.

Logan Thomas, Virginia Tech
(23-of-25, 310 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT)
Thomas has the best game of his young career, recording his first 300-yard game and setting a completion percentage record for the Frank Beamer-era, while also running for a pair of scores, including the go-ahead TD with 56 seconds to go, in a thrilling 38-35 ACC win over Miami.

Brandon Weeden, Oklahoma State
(24-of-28, 289 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT)
Weeden engineers a massive blowout of conference-foe Kansas, playing less than one half of football and throwing for five touchdowns and 289 yards with just four incompletions, leading the Cowboys to a 56-7 halftime advantage.

Last week's Manning Award Player of the Week was Washington State senior Marshall Lobbestael. A native of Oak Harbor, Wash., he completed 32-of-49 passes for 377 yards and three touchdowns to lead the Cougars to a 31-27 victory Colorado. Two of the three touchdowns occurred in the final three minutes, including a 63-yard game-winning connection. It was the second time that Lobbestael had been recognized as a Manning Award Star of the Week and his first Manning Award Player of the Week honor.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its eighth winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Last year saw Auburn's Cameron Newton earn the award, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers.