Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week park

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its "Stars of the Week." College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 9 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week's eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Matt Barkley, USC
(32-of-39, 464 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT)
Barkley has a huge game with a school-record 464 yards, including four TD tosses while also running for a score, and the Trojans need every bit of it as they hold off Arizona, 48-41.

Alex Carder, Western Michigan
(37-of-51, 479 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT)
Carder throws for three fourth-quarter touchdowns and finishes with a career-high 479 yards as the Broncos come from behind to top defending Big East champ Connecticut, 38-31.

Case Keenum, Houston
(30-of-46, 471 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT)
Keenum has another 400-yard game, leading the Cougars to a hard-fought 49-42 win over UTEP as his squad improves to 5-0 for the first time since 1990.

Marshall Lobbestael, Washington State
(32-of-49, 377 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT)
Lobbestael, who was not the starter coming into the year, has another big game, throwing two touchdown passes in the final three minutes, including a perfect 63-yard game-winning connection, to lift the Cougars to a 31-27 win over Colorado.

Ryan Radcliff, Central Michigan
(17-of-28, 388 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT)
Radcliff throws for 388 yards and four scores (79 yards, 61 yards, 46 yards and 43 yards) as the Chippewas outscore Northern Illinois, 48-41, for their second victory of the year.

Nathan Scheelhaase, Illinois
(21-of-32, 392 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT)
Scheelhaase throws for a career-high 391 yards as he leads the Illini to a thrilling comeback from a 28-10 deficit, punching in the game-winning touchdown with 13 seconds to go in the 38-35 victory.

Russell Wilson, Wisconsin
(14-of-20, 255 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT)
Wilson leads the Badgers to a huge win as he directs a dominant offensive performance with two passing touchdowns and one on the ground in a 48-17 decision over No. 8 Nebraska.

Tyler Wilson, Arkansas
(30-of-51, 509 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT)
Wilson piles up a school-record 509 yards as he leads an amazing comeback for the Razorbacks, erasing a 35-17 deficit with a huge second half in 42-38 win over Texas A&M.

Last week, for the second week in a row, Clemson quarterback Tajh Boyd was the Manning Award Player of the Week. The sophomore completed 22-of-35 passes for 344 yards and three touchdowns to lead Clemson to a 35-30 victory over nationally-ranked Florida State – the Tigers' second straight victory over a Top-20 foe. The win lifted Clemson to 4-0 for the first time since 2007. The Hampton, Va., product's efforts led the Tigers to 455 yards of total offense against what had been the nation's fifth-ranked defense. His 344 passing yards were the fourth-most in school history, the second consecutive week in which he has tallied a top-four total. In addition to collecting Manning Award Player of the Week honors, Boyd was named the ACC Offensive Back of the Week for the second straight week.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its eighth winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Last year saw Auburn's Cameron Newton earn the award, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers.