Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week park

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its "Stars of the Week." College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 9 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week's eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Tajh Boyd, Clemson
(23-of-37, 344 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT)
Boyd tallies his second straight 300-yard game and his second straight win over a nationally-ranked opponent, this time No. 11 Florida State; he also adds a rushing TD in the victory.

B.J. Daniels, USF
(15-of-24, 202 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT)
Daniels keeps USF perfect with an impressive dual-threat performance which includes a 54-yard touchdown pass and a 71-yard run as he finishes with 130 rushing yards in a 52-24 win over UTEP.

Seth Doege, Texas Tech
(26-of-38, 222 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT)
Doege, who also rushes for 83 yards, makes the list for the second week in a row after completing a 14-point comeback with the game-winning touchdown with 44 seconds to go on a fourth-and-three pass in a 35-34 win over Nevada.

Robert Griffin, III, Baylor
(29-of-33, 338, 5 TDs, 0 INT)
Griffin continues his sensational season with another big effort (adds 51 rushing yards and a score) in a 56-31 victory over Rice – Griffin now has 13 touchdown passes this year, and just 12 incompletions.

Keith Price, Washington
(19-of-25, 292 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT)
Price leads the Huskies to their first 3-1 start since 2006 by picking apart the Cal defense in a 31-23 victory in which he ices the win with a 71-yard fourth-quarter DT strike.

Corey Robinson, Troy
(24-of-38, 348 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT)
Robinson puts the Trojans on top for good with a 75-yard touchdown connection as he leads Troy to its first victory of the year, a 38-35 shootout over Sun Belt rival Middle Tennessee State.

Brandon Weeden, Oklahoma State
(47-of-60, 438 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT)
Trailing 20-3 at the half, Weeden leads the Cowboys to a huge Big 12 road victory over No. 8 Texas A&M by throwing for a school record 438 yards as his squad scores 27 unanswered points.

Keith Wenning, Ball State
(24-of-30, 320 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT)
Wenning establishes his career-high with 320 yards in just three quarters of play as the 3-1 Cardinals get off to their second-best start since 1995 with a 48-21 win over Army – Ball State was just 4-8 last year.

Last week's Manning Award Player of the Week was Tajh Boyd, who can make it two straight with strong voting this week. The Hampton, Va., native made just his third career starts for Clemson, leading the Tigers to a 34-28 upset of defending national champion Auburn, ending its 17-game winning streak. The sophomore completed 30-of-42 passes for 386 yards and four touchdowns without an interception; leading his offense to 624 yards of total offense, the third most in Clemson history.  Boyd's 386 yards passing were the second most in Clemson history while his 30 rushing yards gave him 416 yards of total offense, fourth most in Clemson history. He was also named the ACC Offensive Player of the Week.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its eighth winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Last year saw Auburn's Cameron Newton earn the award, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers.