Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (September 8, 2015) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Friday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Brandon Allen, Arkansas (14-of-18, 308 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 99.6)
Allen registers a career-high in passing yards and matches his best in passing TDs as the Razorbacks open the year with a 48-13 win over UTEP.

Jacoby Brissett, N.C. State (21-of-23, 196 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 79.0)
Brissett completes his first 12 passes of the game as the Wolfpack scores its most points in a season opener since 2003, defeating Troy, 49-21.

Josh Dobbs, Tennessee (15-of-22, 205 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 89.9)
Dobbs also rushes for 89 yards and a touchdown as he leads the Volunteers to 604 yards of total offense in a 59-30 win over Bowling Green.

Dane Evans, Tulsa (21-of-33, 424 yards, 2 TDs, 2 INT, QBR: 69.6)
Evans tallies his second career 400-yard game while tallying three total touchdowns, as the Golden Hurricane hold off Florida Atlantic, 47-44, in overtime.

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma (23-of-33, 388 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 61.5)
Mayfield makes his debut for the Sooners after transferring from Texas Tech and sets a school record for passing yards in a season opener while accounting for four total touchdowns as Oklahoma cruises to a 41-3 win over Akron.

Seth Russell, Baylor (15-of-30, 376 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 78.7)
In his first game as the full-time starter for the Bears, Russell throws for five touchdowns while running for another as Baylor scores 28 unanswered points to close out SMU, 56-21.

Josh Rosen, UCLA (28-of-35, 351 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 92.4)
Rosen, a true freshman, had an electric debut for the Bruins, throwing for over 300 yards and three touchdowns, as UCLA topped Virginia, 34-16.

Malik Zaire, Notre Dame (19-of-22, 313 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.1)
Zaire makes his first home start and has the second-best completion percentage in school history with 10 of his passes going for 15 or more yards as the Fighting Irish tops Texas, 38-3.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, December 2 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship game on Monday, January 11.

In its first 11 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 10 different schools and from four different conferences. One of the more unique aspects of the Manning Award is the fact that it takes into account the quarterbacks bowl performances, in addition to the regular season. Ten of the 11 Manning Award winners won bowl games during the season they won the honor; the lone loss was by Colt McCoy in the 2010 BCS Championship game when he suffered an early injury. In addition to McCoy, six other Manning honorees (Matt Leinart, Vince Young, Tim Tebow, Cam Newton, Jameis Winston and Marcus Mariota) led their teams to the national championship game (BCS or CFP).

All of the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-two players from 58 different schools were honored during the 2014 season.