Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (September 6, 2016) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Friday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

J.T. Barrett, Ohio State (21-of-31, 349 yards, 6 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 80.0)
Barrett also rushes for a touchdown as he sets the Buckeye record with seven scores while leading his team to a school record 776 yards in a 77-10 blowout of Bowling Green.

Dallas Davis, South Alabama (24-of-34, 285 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 82.7)
Davis, making his first career start, directs a shocking comeback upset as he helps the Jaguars overcome a 17-0 halftime deficit and a 20-7 fourth-quarter margin, connecting on a short TD with 1:03 to go to put his team on top of Mississippi State for good, 21-20, in their first win over an SEC school in program history.

Gage Gubrud, Eastern Washington (34-of-40, 474 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: NA)
Gubrud, who is making his first career start, also rushes for a game-high 77 yards and a touchdown as he leads the three-touchdown underdog Eagles to a 45-42 victory over Washington State.

Lamar Jackson, Louisville (17-of-23, 286 yards, 6 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.0)
Jackson, who also rushes for 119 yards and two touchdowns, sets school records for touchdowns and total offense while tying the passing TD mark in just one half of action as he leads the Cardinals to a 70-14 crushing of Charlotte.

Tyler Jones, Texas State (40-of-55, 418 yards, 4 TDs, 2 INT, QBR: 57.8)
Jones threw for a touchdown in the first overtime, then in the third overtime, he caught a TD pass before completing a two-point conversion to help the Bobcats upend Ohio, 56-54.

Greg Ward, Jr., Houston (23-of-40, 321 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 83.1)
Ward leads the Cougars to a very impressive 33-23 victory over No. 3 Oklahoma, saving his best for third down as he completes 9-of-11 passes for 147 yards and nine first downs in those situations as Houston wins back-to-back games over Top 10 teams for the first time in program history.

Mike White, Western Kentucky (25-of-31, 517 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.3)
White, making his first start at WKU, becomes the third quarterback in Hilltopper history to throw for 500 yards, as he leads Western Kentucky to a 46-14 victory over Rice in Conference USA action.

Logan Woodside, Toledo (23-of-31, 371 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.8)
Woodside throws for a career-high 371 yards and three touchdowns, including a pair of second-quarter strikes to break the game open, as he leads the Rockets to a 31-10 road victory over Arkansas State.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, November 30 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship game on Monday, January 9.

In its first 12 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 11 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference leads the way with four Manning Award winners (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell, Tim Tebow), while Texas is the only school with two winners (Colt McCoy and Vince Young). Watson was the third winner from the Atlantic Coast Conference, joining Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007) and Jameis Winston (Florida State, 2013).

All of the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Fifty-six players from 53 different schools were honored during the 2015 season.