Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (September 6, 2011) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named six quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 9 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s six Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Robert Griffin, III, Baylor
(21-of-27, 359 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT)
Griffin leads the Bears to their first win over a ranked foe since 2004, registering a career-high five touchdowns to snap TCU’s national-best 25-game regular-season winning streak.

Chandler Harnish, Northern Illinois
(12-of-19, 195 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT)
Harnish sets a career-high by throwing for five touchdowns and then adds a rushing score in a 49-26 win over Army.

Landry Jones, Oklahoma
(35-of-47, 375 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT)
Jones continues to pile up big numbers, opening the 2011 season with a huge performance in a blowout win over state-rival Tulsa.

Case Keenum, Houston
(30-of-40, 310 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT)
In his first game after a major knee injury suffered against UCLA last year, Keenum looks in peak form, tallying another 300-yard game in a key victory over UCLA.

Kellen Moore, Boise State
(28-of-34, 261 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT)
One of the most efficient quarterbacks in college football, Moore has a stretch of 28-of-32 passes completed with three TDs as the Broncos proved themselves on the national stage once again with a win over Georgia in Atlanta.

Danny O’Brien, Maryland
(31-of-44, 348 yards, 1 TD, 1 INT)
O’Brien piles up the yards in Maryland’s ACC opener. Leading the Terrapins to the go-ahead points with 1:39 remaining in the game.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its eighth winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Last year saw Auburn’s Cameron Newton earn the award, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers.