Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (September 9, 2019) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Joe Burrow, LSU (31-of-39, 471 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 90.1)
Burrow, who completed 15-of-18 second-half passes for 251 yards, finished with the second-most passing yards in LSU history, including a 61-yard touchdown strike with 2:27 to play to clinch a thrilling 45-38 win over No. 9 Texas on the road.

Sam Ehlinger, Texas (31-of-47, 401 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 86.3)
Ehlinger rushes for 60 yards and connects on a career-high in passing yards, the sixth-most in school history, but it wasn’t enough as the Longhorns were topped by No. 6 LSU, 45-38.

Justin Herbert, Oregon (19-of-26, 310 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 91.1)
Herbert, who played less than three quarters, tallied his sixth 300-yard game and his second five-TD game as the Ducks cruised to a 77-6 win over Nevada.

Sam Howell, North Carolina (16-of-24, 274 yards, 2 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 81.8)
Howell, a true freshman, completed a 20-yard pass on 4th-and-17 and then tossed the game-winning touchdown pass with 1:01 to go as the Tar Heels came from behind to upset Miami, 28-25, in ACC action.

Josh Jackson, Maryland (21-of-38, 296 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 88.0)
Jackson led the Terrapins to 42 first-half points and a total of 650 yards of offense, as they rolled over No. 21 Syracuse, 63-20.

Tyler Johnston III, UAB (15-of-24, 319 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 81.1)
Johnston tallies his third career 300-yard passing game and matches his career best for TD passes as the Blazers top Akron, 31-20.

Elijah Sindelar, Purdue (34-of-52, 509 yards, 5 TDS, 1 INT, QBR: 77.0)
Sindelar, who also rushes for a touchdown, tallies career-highs in passing yards and TDs, as the Boilermakers defeated Vanderbilt, 42-24.

Kedon Slovis, USC (28-of-33, 377 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 93.4)
Slovis set the USC record for passing yards in a freshman’s first start as he helped the Trojans overcome an early 14-point deficit in a 45-20 Pac-12 upset of No. 23 Stanford.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 28 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 15 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) leads the way with five Manning Award honorees, while the Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) have four Manning Award winners each. Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) joins Texas (McCoy and Young) as the only schools with two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2018 season.