Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (September 3, 2019) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Hank Bachmeier, Boise State (30-of-51, 407 yards, 1 TD, 1 INT, QBR: 74.1)
Bachmeier, a true freshman, completed 8-of-12 passes for 136 yards on third down as he helped the Broncos erase a 31-13 deficit in a 36-31 win over Florida State on the road.

Joe Burrow, LSU (23-of-27, 278 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 95.6)
Burrow, seeing just over one-half of action, tied the school record with his five touchdown passes (all in the first half) as the Tigers rolled to a 55-3 win over Georgia Southern.

Justin Fields, Ohio State (18-of-25, 234 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 92.8)
Fields, who also runs for a 51-yard score on the first drive of his Ohio State career, leads the Buckeyes to 28 first-quarter points as they cruise to a 45-21 win over FAU.

Mike Glass III, Eastern Michigan (20-of-22, 188 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 91.4)
Glass, who also rushed for a touchdown, led the Eagles to scores on their first three second-half possessions as they went on the road to defeat Coastal Carolina, 30-23.

Anthony Gordon, Washington State (29-of-35, 420 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 95.6)
Gordon, making his first career start, completed his first 15 passes and added three TD strikes of over 40 yards as the Cougars rolled to a 58-7 win over New Mexico State.

Jalen Hurts, Oklahoma (20-of-23, 332 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.7)
Hurts also runs for 176 yards (second-most in school history for a QB) and three touchdowns to finish with 508 yards of offense as the Sooners topped Houston, 49-31.

Spencer Sanders, Oklahoma State (19-of-24, 203 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 93.5)
Sanders, the first freshman to start the season-opener for Oklahoma State since 2012, was near flawless as the Cowboys went on the road to beat Oregon State, 52-36.

Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama (26-of-31, 336 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 94.9)
In less than three quarters of action, Tagovailoa tallied his seventh career 300-yard game as well as his seventh four-TD game in a 42-3 blowout of Duke.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 28 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 15 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) leads the way with five Manning Award honorees, while the Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) have four Manning Award winners each. Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) joins Texas (McCoy and Young) as the only schools with two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2018 season.