Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (November 4, 2019) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Stephen Calvert, Liberty (20-of-27, 474 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.6)
Calvert tallies a career-high in passing yards and leads the Flames to a program record 730 yards of total offense in a 63-21 road win over UMass.

Mason Fine, North Texas (24-of-39, 332 yards, 7 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 77.8)
Fine records his career-high for passing touchdowns (also the most by a C-USA QB since 2014) as he leads the Mean Green to a 52-26 league win over UTEP.

Jake Fromm, Georgia (20-of-30, 279 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.3)
Fromm, who connects on a 52-yard touchdown early in the fourth quarter, also converts a critical third down with just over two minutes to go to ice a key 24-17 SEC East win over No. 6 Florida.

Tyler Huntley, Utah (19-of-24, 284 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 96.0)
Huntley also runs for a go-ahead touchdown early in the fourth quarter as the Utes hold off Washington, 33-28, in a critical Pac-12 road game.

Jamie Newman, Wake Forest (25-of-38, 287 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 95.2)
Newman returns from injury and also rushes for two touchdowns to lead the Demon Deacons to a 44-10 ACC victory over N.C. State.

Bryce Perkins, Virginia (30-of-39, 378 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 85.8)
Perkins also rushes for 112 yards and two touchdowns, including a key 65-yard score in the fourth quarter as the Cavaliers win a critical ACC Coastal showdown with North Carolina on the road.

Chris Reynolds, Charlotte (14-of-21, 192 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 95.7)
Reynolds, who ranks second all-time in school history for single-season TD passes, also runs for 103 yards and a touchdown as the 49ers defeat Middle Tennessee, 34-20, in C-USA action.

Brady White, Memphis (19-of-33, 350 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 75.5)
White tallied his fourth 300-yard game of the season as he leads the Tigers to one of the biggest wins in program history, 54-48 over No. 15 SMU, to lift Memphis into first place in the AAC’s West Division.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 28 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 15 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) leads the way with five Manning Award honorees, while the Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) have four Manning Award winners each. Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) joins Texas (McCoy and Young) as the only schools with two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2018 season.