Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (October 7, 2019) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Jett Duffey, Texas Tech (26-of-44, 424 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 80.3)
Duffey, who makes his first start of the season, also runs for a 16-yard touchdown as he leads the Red Raiders to a 45-35 Big 12 upset of No. 21 Oklahoma State, snapping a 10-game home losing streak to ranked teams.

Dan Ellington, Georgia State (29-of-41, 382 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 84.8)
Ellington, who also runs for 69 yards and a touchdown, records career-highs in passing yards and total offense as he leads the Panthers to a school-record 722 yards of offense in a 52-38 Sun Belt win over Arkansas State.

Jake Fromm, Georgia (24-of-29, 288 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 93.8)
From threw two touchdown passes in the final two minutes of the first half to turn a 14-13 deficit into a 26-14 halftime lead as the Bulldogs used his spark to run away with a 43-14 decision over Tennessee on the road in SEC action.

Sam Howell, North Carolina (33-of-51, 376 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 80.1)
Howell registers career-highs in yards, touchdowns, completions and attempts as he leads the Tar Heels to a 38-22 ACC road win over Georgia Tech.

Jake Luton, Oregon State (18-of-26, 285 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 97.6)
Luton, who also rushes for a touchdown, tallies his career-best for touchdowns as he leads the Beavers to scores on their first three drives in a 48-31 Pac-12 road victory over UCLA.

Malcolm Perry, Navy (5-of-7, 144 yards, 0 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 90.2)
Perry, who also runs for 111 yards and two touchdowns, scores on a four-yard run with 23 seconds remaining to put the Midshipmen on top in a stunning 34-25 comeback win over Air Force.

Brock Purdy, Iowa State (19-of-24, 247 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 94.1)
Purdy, who also rushes for 102 yards and two scores, finishes with 300 total yards for the fourth straight game as he keys the Cyclones first Big 12 victory, 49-24 over TCU.

Khalil Tate, Arizona (31-of-41, 404 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 90.4)
Tate makes a dazzling return from injury by tallying a career-high in passing yards as he leads the Wildcats to a 35-30 Pac-12 road win over Colorado.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 28 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 15 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) leads the way with five Manning Award honorees, while the Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) have four Manning Award winners each. Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) joins Texas (McCoy and Young) as the only schools with two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2018 season.