Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (October 21, 2019) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Shane Buechele, SMU (30-of-53, 457 yards, 6 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 83.8)
Buechele registers career-bests in passing yards and touchdowns, including long throws of 75 and 60 yards, to lead the Mustangs to a 45-21 win over Tulsa in AAC action.

Justin Herbert, Oregon (24-of-38, 280 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 90.8)
Herbert rallies the Ducks from 14-point second-half deficit against their archrivals, connecting on the game-winning score with 5:10 to go in a 35-31 Pac-12 road win over No. 25 Washington.

Jalen Hurts, Oklahoma (16-of-17, 316 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.8)
Hurts also runs for 75 yards and two touchdowns to record his fifth four-TD game of the season as he leads the Sooners to a 52-14 Big 12 win over West Virginia.

Preston Hutchinson, Eastern Michigan (31-of-36, 357 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 78.4)
Hutchinson, who also rushes for a touchdown in his first career start, goes 11-of-12 in the fourth quarter, including a 34-yard TD with 36 seconds to go, to lift the Eagles to a 34-27 MAC win over Western Michigan.

Brock Purdy, Iowa State (23-of-32, 378 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 89.3)
Purdy registers his sixth career 300-yard game as he leads the Cyclones to a key Big road win, 34-24, over Texas Tech.

Nathan Rourke, Ohio (19-of-28, 342 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 86.1)
Rourke, who also rushes for 79 yards and two scores, registers season-bests in passing yards, total yards and TDs to lead the Bobcats to a 45-38 MAC win over Kent State.

Mike Schmidt, Air Force (5-of-6, 147 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 98.3)
Schmidt comes off the bench for the first extended action of his career and also runs for 120 yards and three touchdowns to lead the Falcons to a 56-26 MW road win over Hawaii.

Brady White, Memphis (21-of-29, 358 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 95.6)
White tallies his fifth career 300-yard game and his third five-TD performance as he leads the Tigers to a key AAC win over Tulane, 47-17.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 28 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 15 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) leads the way with five Manning Award honorees, while the Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) have four Manning Award winners each. Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) joins Texas (McCoy and Young) as the only schools with two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2018 season.