Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (December 2, 2019) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Wednesday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Lynn Bowden, Jr., Kentucky (1-of-2, 4 yards, 0 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 99.1)
Bowden runs for career-highs of 284 yards and four touchdowns to lead the Wildcats to a 45-13 win over state rival Louisville.

Sam Ehlinger, Texas (19-of-27, 348 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 93.9)
Ehlinger, who also runs for 83 yards and a touchdown, tallies his fourth 300-yard game of the year as he leads the Longhorns to a 49-24 Big 12 win over Texas Tech.

Justin Fields, Ohio State (14-of-25, 302 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.4)
Fields tallies his second 300-yard/4 TD game as he leads the Buckeyes to a 56-27 blowout of arch rival Michigan on the road.

Bryce Perkins, Virginia (20-of-33, 311 yards, 1 TD, 1 INT, QBR: 86.9)
Perkins also runs for 164 yards and two touchdowns as he leads the Cavaliers to a 39-30 victory over rival Virginia Tech to snap a 15-game losing streak to the 24th-ranked Hokies and to clinch the ACC Coastal Championship.

Peyton Ramsey, Indiana (23-of-39, 337 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 89.2)
Ramsey adds two rushing touchdowns, including the game-winner in the second overtime as the Hoosiers defeat rival Purdue 44-41 to lift Indiana to its first eight-win season since 1993.

Zach Smith, Tulsa (21-of-30, 331 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 82.2)
Smith records a career-high for touchdown passes, including a 66-yard connection, to lead the Golden Hurricane to a 49-24 AAC road win over East Carolina.

Zac Thomas, Appalachian State (28-of-34, 326 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 96.7)
Thomas, who also rushes for a touchdown, matches his career-high for TDs and sets his career-best for passing yards as the Mountaineers roll to a 48-13 Sun Belt road win over Troy.

Kyle Trask, Florida (30-of-41, 343 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 93.5)
Trask notches his third career 300-yard game as he leads the Gators to a 40-17 win over rival Florida State, snapping a four-game home losing streak to the Seminoles.

The Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List and then added 16 quarterbacks in midseason. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 28 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 15 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) leads the way with five Manning Award honorees, while the Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) have four Manning Award winners each. Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) joins Texas (McCoy and Young) as the only schools with two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2018 season.