Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (November 25, 2019) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Wednesday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Dustin Crum, Kent State (18-of-26, 369 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 90.9)
Crum, who also rushes for a career-best 101 yards and a touchdown, has the most total yards for Kent State since 1997 as the Golden Flashes top Ball State, 41-38, in MAC action.

Micale Cunningham, Louisville (11-of-20, 238 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 95.3)
Cunningham, who runs for 60 yards and a touchdown, sets his career-record for passing TDs as he lifts the Cardinals to a 56-34 ACC win over Syracuse.

Jayden Daniels, Arizona State (22-of-32, 408 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 86.4)
Daniels records a career-high in passing yards and matches his best for TDs as he leads the Sun Devils to a 31-28 upset of No. 6 Oregon in Pac-12 play.

Anthony Gordon, Washington State (50-of-70, 606 yards, 6 TDs, 3 INT, QBR: 76.3)
Gordon, who registers a career-high in passing yards and sets the Pac-12 record for single-season TD passes (45), leads the Cougars on a game-winning drive in the final minute as they top Oregon State 54-54 in a PAC-12 showdown.

Donald Hammond, Air Force (9-of-10, 327 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.5)
Hammond, who also runs for a touchdown, throws for the most yards by an Air Force quarterback since 1976 as the Falcons roll to a 44-22 MW road victory over New Mexico.

Shea Patterson, Michigan (20-of-32, 366 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 93.4)
Patterson notches his second straight 300-yard game and matches his career-high for TD passes as he leads the Wolverines to a 39-14 Big Ten road win over Indiana.

Malcolm Perry, Navy (9-of-15, 162 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 72.6)
Perry also rushes for 195 yards and two touchdowns, including a 70-yard dash win six minutes to go, as he leads the Midshipmen to a 35-28 upset of No. 25 SMU in AAC action.

Kedon Slovis, USC (37-of-47, 515 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 83.0)
Slovis, who has his fourth 400-yard game, breaks the USC record for single-game passing yards as he directs the Trojans to a 52-35 Pac-12 win over arch rival UCLA.

The Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List and then added 16 quarterbacks in midseason. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 28 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 15 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) leads the way with five Manning Award honorees, while the Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) have four Manning Award winners each. Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) joins Texas (McCoy and Young) as the only schools with two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2018 season.