Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (November 18, 2019) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Kaleb Barker, Troy (30-of-43, 363 yards, 6 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 92.4)
Barker, who tallies his fourth straight 300-yard game, sets a program-record with six touchdown passes as the Trojans roll to a 63-27 Sun Belt win over Texas State on the road.

Ian Book, Notre Dame (14-of-20, 284 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.7)
Book tosses five touchdown passes for the third time this season as he leads the Fighting Irish to a 52-20 rout of No. 23 Navy.

Joe Burrow, LSU (32-of-42, 489 yards, 5 TDs, 2 INT, QBR: 95.9)
Burrow registers his career-high for passing yards as well as his fourth five-TD game of the season as he leads the Tigers to a 58-37 SEC road win over Ole Miss.

Anthony Gordon, Washington State (44-of-60, 520 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 85.2)
Gordon, who sets the school record with his 39th touchdown pass of the season, leads the Cougars to 24 unanswered points as they pull away for a 49-22 Pac-12 win over Stanford.

Jalen Hurts, Oklahoma (30-of-42, 297 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 81.3)
Hurts also rushes a career-high 27 times for 114 yards as he leads a Sooner comeback which erases a 28-3 deficit en route to a thrilling 34-31 Big 12 road victory over No. 13 Baylor.

Shea Patterson, Michigan (24-of-33, 384 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 90.4)
Patterson throws for a season-high in passing yards as he leads the Wolverines to a 44-10 Big Ten win over Michigan State, their most lopsided win over their state rival since 2002.

Kedon Slovis, USC (29-of-35, 406 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.2)
Slovis records his third 400-yard game and his third four-TD game of the year as he leads the Trojans to a 41-17 Pac-12 road win over California.

Brady White, Memphis (22-of-33, 341 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 95.2)
White records a career-high six touchdowns (he also rushes for one) as he helps the Tigers erase a 10-point second-quarter deficit in their fourth straight AAC win, 45-27, over Houston.

The Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List and then added 16 quarterbacks in midseason. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 28 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 15 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) leads the way with five Manning Award honorees, while the Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) have four Manning Award winners each. Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) joins Texas (McCoy and Young) as the only schools with two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2018 season.