Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (December 14, 2020) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Austin Aune, North Texas (16-of-29, 302 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 67.9)
Aune, who also runs for a touchdown, sets his career-best for touchdowns while tallying his third 300-yard game of the season as the Mean Green defeat UTEP, 45-43, in a C-USA road game.

Isaiah Chavez, New Mexico (14-of-18, 196 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 86.9)
Chavez, a freshman walk-on making his first career start, also rushes for 95 yards and a touchdown as he leads the Lobos to a 49-39 MW victory over Fresno State to snap a seven-game losing streak to the Bulldogs.

Jayden Daniels, Arizona State (9-of-11, 203 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 99.1)
Daniels, who adds a rushing touchdown, leads the Sun Devils to a 70-7 Pac-12 road win over archrival Arizona – their most points ever in the Territorial Cup rivalry series.

Trey Lowe, Southern Miss (13-of-19, 209 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 86.2)
Lowe, who also rushes for a career-best 70 yards and a touchdown, tallies his first career touchdowns to go with career-highs in completions and yards as he leads the Golden Eagles to a 45-31 C-USA win over FAU.

Grayson McCall, Coastal Carolina (24-of-29, 338 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 92.6)
McCall, who also runs for a touchdown, notches his career-high for passing yards and tosses a 23-yard game-winning touchdown with 35 seconds to go as the Chanticleers remain perfect with a 42-38 Sun Belt road win over Troy.

Nick Starkel, San Jose State (20-of-30, 306 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 63.7)
Starkel, who tallies the sixth 300-yard game of his career, sparks the Spartans from a 13-point halftime deficit by completing all seven of his third-quarter passes for 115 yards as they top Nevada, 30-20, to earn a trip to the MW Championship game – the first team in program history to play in a conference championship game. 

Jordan Travis, Florida State (13-of-18, 192 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 95.1)
Travis, who also rushes for 90 yards and a touchdown, sets the school record for rushing yards by a quarterback and matches his career-best with three scores as he leads the Seminoles back from a 28-day layoff with a 56-35 ACC victory over Duke.

Zach Wilson, BYU (26-of-35, 303 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 89.5)
Wilson tallies his fifth 300-yard game of the season as he leads the Cougars to a 28-14 win over San Diego State for their first 10-win season since 2011.

The Sugar Bowl has had the opportunity to recognize 73 different quarterbacks from 66 schools as Manning Award Stars of the Week in 2020. Since 2011, 424 quarterbacks from 129 schools have been honored.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, inclusion on the Watch List is not necessary for the quarterbacks to be selected for the honor. Finalists are scheduled to be announced in mid-December and the winner will be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 16 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) and the Southeastern Conference (Joe Burrow, Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) lead the way with five Manning Award honorees each, while and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) has had four Manning Award winners. LSU (Burrow and Russell) joins Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) and Texas (McCoy and Young) as the only schools with two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.