Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (December 1, 2014) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Jacoby Brissett, North Carolina State
(9-of-11, 66 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 99.8)

Brissett rushes for a career-high 167 yards, a school record for a quarterback, and a touchdown as the Wolfpack goes on the road to upend state rival North Carolina, 35-7.

Brandon Doughty, Western Kentucky
(34-of-50, 491 yards, 8 TDs, 2 INT, QBR: 92.5)

Doughty throws for a Conference USA-record eight touchdowns, including the game-winner followed by a successful two-point conversion in overtime, as he leads the Hilltoppers to a shocking upset of 23rd-ranked and previously undefeated Marshall, 67-66.

Pat Mahomes, Texas Tech
(30-of-56, 598 yards, 6 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 89.2)

Mahomes sets a Big 12 freshman record for passing yards, but it’s not enough as the Red Raiders can’t convert a late two-point conversion in a 48-46 loss to No. 7 Baylor.

Ozzie Mann, Ball State
(20-of-29, 286 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 92.7)

Mann registers career-highs in passing yards and touchdowns as he leads the Cardinals to a 41-24 road win over MAC East Division champ Bowling Green.

Marcus Mariota, Oregon
(19-of-25, 367 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 97.2)

Mariota adds a pair of rushing touchdowns as the Ducks roll to a 47-19 victory over archrival Oregon State in the Civil War.

Gary Nova, Rutgers
(28-of-42, 347 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 92.1)

Nova and the Scarlet Knights tally the final 10 points of the game as they come from behind to defeat Maryland, 41-38, in a Big Ten road game.

Cody Sokol, Louisiana Tech
(20-of-32, 387 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 82.4)

Sokol has a big passing day as he leads the Bulldogs to 41 straight points in the second half to blow open a close game in a 76-31 victory over Rice which clinches the C-USA West Division title.

Logan Woodside, Toledo
(14-of-18, 323 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 90.1)

Woodside sets his career-high for touchdown passes, including an 89-yard first-quarter hook-up with Kishon Wilcher as the Rockets earn a share of the Mid-American West division championship with a 52-16 road victory over Eastern Michigan.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 11th winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, at the time, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn’s Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. The 2012 honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins). The 2013 and 2014 winners were also the first freshmen to collect the honor – in 2013, it was Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel, and he was followed by last year’s winner, Jameis Winston from Florida State. Both freshmen also collected the Heisman Trophy after their sensational debut seasons.