Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (November 25, 2013) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Wednesday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Anthony Boone, Duke
(24-of-29, 256 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 95.6)
Boone keeps the Blue Devils in the running for an ACC Championship with a strong passing game, as well as a career-best 57 rushing yards, in a 28-21 victory over Wake Forest.

Shane Carden, East Carolina
(23-of-30, 255 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 90.0)
Carden adds a pair of rushing touchdowns and throws his 30th TD pass of the year as he leads East Carolina to an impressive 42-28 win over North Carolina State.

Derek Carr, Fresno State
(27-of-37, 527 yards, 7 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.4)
Carr records a school-record for TD passes and a season-best in passing yards in three quarters of action as he carries the Bulldogs to a 69-28 win over New Mexico which clinches the Mountain West West Division title.

Clint Chelf, Oklahoma State
(19-of-25, 370 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 93.4)
Chelf, who also rushes for one score, tallies a career-high in passing yards while leading the Cowboys to an impressive 49-17 win over previously undefeated and fourth-ranked Baylor.

Connor Cook, Michigan State
(16-of-23, 293 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 90.4)
Cook connects for a career-high in passing yards in a huge game for the Spartans as they clinch the Big Ten Legends Division with a 30-6 win over Northwestern.

Kevin Hogan, Stanford
(17-of-26, 329 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.9)
Hogan helps the Cardinal clinch the Pac-12 North Division by registering career-highs in passing yards and touchdowns as Stanford beats archrival Cal, for the fourth straight year, 63-13.

Keenan Reynolds, Navy
(4-of-6, 46 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 94.8)
Reynolds sets the record for rushing touchdowns by a quarterback with an amazing seven while also tallying 240 rushing yards as he leads the Midshipman to a thrilling 58-52 triple overtime win over San Jose State.

Brett Smith, Wyoming
(29-of-48, 498 yards, 7 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 94.5)
Smith turns in a massive game, adding 142 rushing yards and a score, for the most yards (640) by a player this year while also setting Wyoming records for passing TDs, TDs responsible for and total offense; and the Cowboys need it all as they edge Hawaii, 59-56, in overtime.

Last week’s Manning Award Quarterback of the Week was Blake Bortles from UCF. The Oviedo, Fla., native tied a wild game with a 30-yard touchdown pass with 1:06 to go, and then secured “star” status by launching a 64-yard completion with 28 seconds to go to set up the winning field goal in a thrilling 39-36 AAC road win over Temple. On the night he completed 27 of his 38 pass attempts for a career-best 404 yards and four touchdowns. It was the 10th-best passing day in UCF history.

The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 27 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the BCS National Championship game on Monday, Jan. 6.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 10th winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. McCoy was followed by top-two NFL Draft picks – Auburn’s Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall by the Carolina Panthers and then Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, was the 2012 winner prior to being the No. 2 overall pick by the Washington Redskins. This past season’s winner was Texas A&M star Johnny Manziel, who became the first freshman to win the honor.