Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (November 24, 2014) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Brandon Doughty, Western Kentucky
(26-of-35, 346 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 90.7)

Doughty uses the long ball with three TD strikes of 47 yards or more, taking over the national lead with 36 touchdown passes, as the Hilltoppers top UTSA, 45-7, to become bowl eligible.

Garrett Grayson, Colorado State
(23-of-29, 389 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 84.5)

Grayson becomes the Rams’ all-time leader in total offense while leading them to a program-record 698 yards of offense in a 58-20 MWC win over New Mexico.

Grant Hedrick, Boise State
(13-of-19, 246 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 83.3)

Hedrick leads Boise State to a season-high for points as they cruise to a key 63-14 road victory over Wyoming keeping them in the running for another MWC Championship.

Taylor Heinicke, Old Dominion
(29-of-38, 302 yards, 2 TDs, 2 INT, QBR: 85.0)

Heinicke shocks Louisiana Tech, which had been undefeated in C-USA, by leading the Monarchs to back-to-back touchdowns to tie the game in regulation before throwing the game-winning TD in overtime of a 30-27 win.

Paxton Lynch, Memphis
(18-of-23, 232 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 92.6)

Lynch, who adds a pair of rushing TDs, leads the Tigers to their fifth straight win as they upend AAC foe USF, 31-20, to improve to 6-1 in league play.

Marcus Mariota, Oregon
(24-of-32, 323 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 97.7)

Mariota, who sets the Pac-12 season record with 42 total touchdowns, adds 73 rushing yards and a TD in a 44-10 Pac-12 win over Colorado.

Kent Myers, Utah State
(15-of-22, 108 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 98.7)

Myers runs the ball just four times but piles up 92 yards and three rushing scores as the Aggies clinch their third straight season with nine victories with a 41-7 win over San Jose State in MWC action.

Dak Prescott, Mississippi State
(16-of-21, 193 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 93.9)

Prescott, who adds a rushing touchdown, plays less than three quarters and still puts up impressive numbers as the Bulldogs roll to their largest margin of victory in SEC play since 1936 with a 51-0 win over Vanderbilt.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 11th winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, at the time, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn’s Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. The 2012 honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins). The 2013 and 2014 winners were also the first freshmen to collect the honor – in 2013, it was Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel, and he was followed by last year’s winner, Jameis Winston from Florida State. Both freshmen also collected the Heisman Trophy after their sensational debut seasons.