Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (November 18, 2013) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Blake Bortles, UCF
(27-of-38, 404 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 89.0)
Bortles ties a wild game with a 30-yard touchdown pass with 1:06 to go, then secures “star” status by launching a 64-yard completion with 28 seconds to go to set up the winning field goal in a thrilling 39-36 AAC road win over Temple.

Tajh Boyd, Clemson
(20-of-26, 340 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 77.8)
Boyd sets the ACC career record for touchdown passes with 97 as he leads the Tigers to a 55-31 blowout victory over ACC-rival Georgia Tech.

Rakeem Cato, Marshall
(33-of-58, 456 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 78.3)
Cato registers a career-high in passing yards with his fifth 400-yard game as he leads the Thundering Herd to two touchdowns in the final 3:47 of a 45-34 comeback victory over Tulsa on the road.

Clint Chelf, Oklahoma State
(16-of-22, 197 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 96.9)
Chelf also runs for 95 yards and two touchdowns in a key Big 12 road victory at nationally-ranked Texas, 38-13, the sixth straight win for the Cowboys.

Brendon Kay, Cincinnati
(24-of-38, 405 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 91.2)
Kay records the first 400-yard game of his career in a critical AAC road game as he keeps the Bearcats in the mix for the conference championship with a 52-17 win over Rutgers.

Sefo Liufau, Colorado
(23-of-36, 364 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 81.3)
Liufau, a freshman making his sixth career start, sets career-highs in yards and TD passes as he leads the Buffaloes to their first Pac-12 victory in over a year, 41-24, over California.

Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
(26-of-32, 345 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 91.3)
Lynch also rushes for 123 yards and two touchdowns as he leads the Huskies to a critical victory over nine-win MAC rival Ball State, 48-27.

Bryce Petty, Baylor
(17-of-31, 335 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 79.2)
Petty also rushes for two touchdowns as the Bears overcome a double-digit deficit to blowout Texas Tech, 63-34, and remain undefeated on the year.

Last week’s Manning Award Quarterback of the Week was Auburn standout Nick Marshall. Despite completing only 3-of-7 passes for 35 yards and one touchdown, the fleet-footed junior rushed for a career-high 214 yards and two more touchdowns to lead a surging Auburn squad to a 55-23 road victory over Tennessee. The Tigers, who won just three games last year, none in SEC competition, have now won seven straight to improve to 10-1 overall and 6-1 in league play. Auburn has climbed to No. 6 in the BCS Standings.

The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 27 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the BCS National Championship game on Monday, Jan. 6.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 10th winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. McCoy was followed by top-two NFL Draft picks – Auburn’s Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall by the Carolina Panthers and then Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, was the 2012 winner prior to being the No. 2 overall pick by the Washington Redskins. This past season’s winner was Texas A&M star Johnny Manziel, who became the first freshman to earn the honor.