Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (November 17, 2014) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

J.T. Barrett, Ohio State (15-of-25, 200 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 97.5)
Barrett breaks school records for rushing yards in a game (189, including a TD), TDs in a season (38) and longest run by a quarterback (86) as the Buckeyes cruise over Minnesota, 31-24, for a key Big Ten road victory.

Joshua Dobbs, Tennessee (19-of-27, 297 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 94.7)
In his second start of the season, Dobbs makes his second appearance as a Manning Star as he adds a rushing touchdown to his passing stats in a 50-16 SEC victory over Kentucky.

Cody Kessler, USC (31-of-42, 371 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 87.2)
Kessler registers his fifth 300-yard game of the year as well as his fifth game with four or more touchdown passes as he leads the Trojans to their 11th straight victory over California, 38-30.

Kale Pearson, Air Force (11-of-15, 129 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.1)
Pearson matches his career-high in touchdown passes and runs for 109 yards and a key fourth-quarter score as he keys Air Force’s 45-38 overtime victory over Nevada in Mountain West action.

Keenan Reynolds, Navy (5-of-8, 71 yards, 1 TD, QBR: 93.2)
Reynolds rushes for a career-high 277 yards and matches the FBS record for rushing touchdowns by a QB in a regulation game with six as he leads the Midshipmen to a 52-19 victory over Georgia Southern.

Tyrone Swoopes, Texas (24-of-33, 305 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 86.7)
Swoopes records his best QBR of the year while tallying his third 300-yard game of the season as he helps the Longhorns become bowl eligible while leading them to a 28-7 Big 12 road victory over Oklahoma State.

Zach Terrell, Western Michigan (17-of-19, 357 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 99.9)
Terrell, who throws for a pair of 54-yard touchdowns, turns in one of the top QBR performances of the year in less than three quarters of action as he leads the Broncos to a 51-7 victory over Eastern Michigan.

Marquise Williams, North Carolina (23-of-40, 276 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 80.2)
Williams adds 122 rushing yards and three more touchdowns and leads a 75-yard drive which ends in a game-winning touchdown with 50 seconds to go as the Tar Heels upend Pittsburgh, 40-35.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 11th winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, at the time, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn’s Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. The 2012 honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins). The 2013 and 2014 winners were also the first freshmen to collect the honor – in 2013, it was Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel, and he was followed by last year’s winner, Jameis Winston from Florida State. Both freshmen also collected the Heisman Trophy after their sensational debut seasons.