Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (November 16, 2020) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Ian Book, Notre Dame (20-of-27, 263 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 97.6)
Book, who also rushes for a season-high 85 yards and a touchdown, leads the Fighting Irish to a 45-31 ACC road win over Boston College.

Matt Corral, Ole Miss (28-of-32, 513 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 97.6)
Corral, who also runs for a touchdown, tallies a career-best effort in passing yards as he leads the Rebels to 21 unanswered points to close a 59-42 comeback victory over South Carolina in SEC action.

Kaleb Eleby, Western Michigan (20-of-29, 284 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 75.2)
Eleby leads the Broncos on a miraculous comeback as he runs for a TD and passes for a TD in the final minute of the game to lift Western Michigan to a 41-38 MAC victory over Toledo.

Sam Howell, North Carolina (32-of-45, 550 yards, 6 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 93.1)
Howell, who also runs for a touchdown, records school-records for passing yards and touchdowns as he rallies the Tar Heels to 35 unanswered points in a 59-53 come-from-behind ACC win over Wake Forest.

Tyler Shough, Oregon (21-of-30, 312 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 92.9)
Shough, making his second career start, tallies career-bests in nearly every category including throwing for three second-half touchdowns as the Ducks overcome an early 12-point deficit to upend Washington State, 43-29, in a Pac-12 road contest.

Zach Smith, Tulsa (26-of-38, 325 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 66.3)
Smith, who tallies season-highs in passing yards and touchdowns, connects on a pair of fourth-quarter TDs, including the go-ahead score with 2:11 to go as the Golden Hurricane upsets No. 19 SMU, 28-24, in AAC action. 

Kyle Trask, Florida (23-of-29, 356 yards, 6 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 97.6)
Trask notches his fifth 300-yard game of the season while matching his career-high in TD passes as the Gators pull away from Arkansas in a 63-35 SEC victory. 

Grant Wells, Marshall (25-of-37, 336 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 68.0)
Wells notches career-highs in nearly every passing category, including yards and touchdowns, as he leads the undefeated Thundering Herd to a 42-14 victory over Middle Tennessee.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, inclusion on the Watch List is not necessary for the quarterbacks to be selected for the honor. Finalists are scheduled to be announced in mid-December and the winner will be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 16 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) and the Southeastern Conference (Joe Burrow, Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) lead the way with five Manning Award honorees each, while and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) has had four Manning Award winners. LSU (Burrow and Russell) joins Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) and Texas (McCoy and Young) as the only schools with two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Seventy-one players from 65 different schools were honored during the 2019 season and 377 different quarterbacks from 127 schools have been recognized since 2011.