Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (November 15, 2021) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting. Since the Manning Award started recognizing Stars of the Week in 2011, 424 different quarterbacks from 129 schools have been recognized. Seventy-three players from 66 different schools were honored during the 2020 season.

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Malik Cunningham, Louisville (13-of-18, 209 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.1)
Cunningham, who also runs for a touchdown, tallies the bulk of his stats in the first half as the Cardinals roll to a 41-3 ACC victory over Syracuse.

Jalon Daniels, Kansas (21-of-30, 202 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 94.8)
Daniels, making his first start of the season, helps the Jayhawks score their most points ever in a road game as well as their first-ever win in Austin, shocking Texas 57-56 in overtime when Daniels finds walk-on fullback Jared Casey on a successful two-point conversion pass.

Dequan Finn, Toledo (18-of-24, 270 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 95.3)
Finn, who also runs for 30 yards and a pair of touchdowns, leads the Rockets to three TDs in the final 3:34 of the first half as they pull away for a 49-17 MAC victory over Bowling Green on the road.

Phil Jurkovec, Boston College (13-of-20, 310 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 99.2)
Jurkovec also runs for 71 yards and three touchdowns as he helps the Eagles erase an early 14-point deficit in a 41-30 ACC victory over Georgia Tech to become bowl eligible.

Will Rogers, Mississippi State (44-of-55, 415 yards, 6 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 89.1)
Rogers, who notches his fifth 400-yard game while only throwing three incompletions in the final three quarters, throws for a school-record six touchdowns as he leads the Bulldogs to the largest comeback in school history, erasing a 25-point deficit as they shock No. 17 Auburn, 43-34, in an SEC road game.

Donovan Smith, Texas Tech (25-of-32, 322 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 86.0)
Smith, who is making his first career start, also runs for 50 yards as the Red Raiders become bowl eligible for the first time since 2017 by beating Big 12 rival Iowa State, 41-38, on a last second 62-yard field goal.

C.J. Stroud, Ohio State (31-of-38, 361 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 97.1)
Stroud, who notches his sixth 300-yard game of the season, also matches his career-best for touchdown passes as the Buckeyes jump out early to ensure that upset-minded Purdue can’t take down another top team in a 59-31 Big Ten win.

Bailey Zappe, Western Kentucky (34-of-42, 482 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 89.3)
Zappe, who connects on three touchdown passes in a four-minute span in the second quarter, tallies his fourth five-TD game and his fifth 400-yard game of the season as the Hilltoppers roll to a 42-21 C-USA road win over Rice.

The Manning Award selected 32 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List and then added 15 additional quarterbacks in October. Finalists will be selected in December and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 17 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 13 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Mac Jones, Joe Burrow, Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) leads the way with six Manning Award honorees, while the Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) has had five winners. The Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) has had four Manning Award winners. LSU (Burrow and Russell), Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) and Texas (McCoy and Young) have each had two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.