Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (November 14, 2016) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Joshua Dobbs, Tennessee (11-of-17, 223 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 95.7)
Dobbs also rushes for a season-high 147 yards and two scores as he sets the Tennessee career record for rushing TDs by a quarterback in a 49-36 SEC victory over Kentucky.

Quinton Flowers, USF (24-of-29, 263 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.4)
Flowers, who becomes the first USF player with 200 passing yards and 200 rushing yards, runs for a career-high 210 yards and three touchdowns including the game-winning 22-yard scoring run with 1:46 to go in a 49-42 AAC road victory over Memphis.

Jalen Hurts, Alabama (28-of-37, 347 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 87.2)
Hurts sets career-highs in passing yards and touchdowns while becoming the first Alabama player in history to throw for 300 yards while running for 100 yards and he also runs for a TD to set the school record for single-game touchdowns in a 51-3 SEC victory over Mississippi State.

Daniel Jones, Duke (22-of-34, 240 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 83.4)
Jones also rushes for 94 yards and two touchdowns tosses a short touchdown pass with 2:10 to go to lift the Blue Devils to a 28-27 upset of No. 17 North Carolina as they celebrate Senior Day with their first ACC win of the season.

Kurt Palandech, UNLV (20-of-32, 252 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 90.6)
Palandech, making his first start of the season, also rushes for 158 yards and a touchdown, setting career-highs in both passing and rushing, as he keys the Rebels’ thrilling 69-66 triple-overtime victory over Mountain West rival Wyoming – the highest scoring game in MW history.

Nathan Peterman, Pittsburgh (22-of-37, 308 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 95.5)
Peterman records career-highs in passing yards and touchdowns as he leads the Panthers to a 43-42 upset of No. 2 Clemson on the road in ACC action.

Mason Rudolph, Oklahoma State (20-of-28, 395 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 85.9)
Rudolph, who also rushes for a touchdown, tallies his fifth 300-yard game of the year, as he leads the Cowboys to a 45-44 Big 12 victory over Texas Tech.

Will Worth, Navy (6-of-8, 111 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 94.4)
Worth also records his sixth 100-yard rushing game of the year with 122 yards and three touchdowns as he leads the Midshipmen to a critical 42-40 victory over AAC divisional rival Tulsa.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, November 30 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship game on Monday, January 9.

In its first 12 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 11 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference leads the way with four Manning Award winners (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell, Tim Tebow), while Texas is the only school with two winners (Colt McCoy and Vince Young). Watson was the third winner from the Atlantic Coast Conference, joining Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007) and Jameis Winston (Florida State, 2013).

All of the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Fifty-five players from 52 different schools were honored during the 2015 season.