Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (November 11, 2013) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Shane Carden, East Carolina
(34-of-50, 384 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 84.4)
Carden sets the Pirate school record with seven touchdowns (he added two rushing) as East Carolina rolls to a Conference USA victory over Tulsa, 58-24.

Taylor Heinicke, Old Dominion
(40-of-56, 533 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 93.8)
Heinicke records a season-high in passing yards, while leading the Monarchs, who are transitioning to the FBS this year and will be full members of Conference USA in 2014, to a 59-38 road win over Idaho, their first victory over an FBS team.

Nick Marshall, Auburn
(3-of-7, 35 yards, 1 TD, 1 INT, QBR: 99.6)
Marshall has one of the lowest passing yardage totals of any Manning Award Star of the Week, but his rushing performance (214 yards, 2 TDS) puts him among the best for the week after a key SEC road victory over Tennessee, 55-23.

Maty Mauk, Missouri
(17-of-28, 203 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 95.8)
Mauk doubles his career touchdown total in one afternoon to tie a school record while leading the Tigers to a 48-17 SEC road victory over Kentucky.

Keenan Reynolds, Navy
(4-of-8, 59 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 81.3)
Reynolds rushes for a career-high 226 yards and four touchdowns as the Midshipmen climb to 5-4 with a 42-28 victory over Hawaii.

Logan Thomas, Virginia Tech
(25-of-31, 366 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 91.6)
Thomas, who also rushes for 42 yards, records his best QBR since 2011 as he turns in a near-flawless performance in a 42-24 upset of No. 11 Miami.

Bo Wallace, Ole Miss
(26-of-33, 407 yards, 3 TDs, 2 INT, QBR: 85.1
Wallace registers a career-high in passing yards as he leads the Rebels to bowl eligibility with a 34-24 victory over Arkansas in SEC action.

Keith Wenning, Ball State
(20-of-29, 299 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 90.7)
Wenning helps the Cardinals avoid a potential trap game leading into a critical showdown with undefeated Northern Illinois on Wednesday, by directing his squad to an under-appreciated 9-1 record.

Last week’s Manning Award Quarterback of the Week was Fresno State’s Derek Carr, who collected the honor for the fourth time this year. The senior completed 39-of-55 passes for 487 yards with three touchdowns, no interceptions and one rushing score in a 41-23 victory over Nevada. It was his fifth 400-yard passing game of the season, and he set the Fresno State all-time record for most passing yards in a career with 10,821.

The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 27 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the BCS National Championship game on Monday, Jan. 6.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 10th winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. McCoy was followed by top-two NFL Draft picks – Auburn’s Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall by the Carolina Panthers and then Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, was the 2012 winner prior to being the No. 2 overall pick by the Washington Redskins. This past season’s winner was Texas A&M star Johnny Manziel, who became the first freshman to earn the honor.