Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (November 9, 2020) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Shane Buechele, SMU (24-of-35, 355 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 85.5)
Buechele notches his sixth 300-yard game of the year while matching his season-high for TD passes as he leads the Mustangs to a 47-23 AAC road win over Temple.

D’Eriq King, Miami (31-of-41, 430 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 91.8)
King, who also runs for 105 yards, collects his fourth career 400-yard/5-TD game and caps an impressive fourth-quarter rally with a 54-yard TD connection with 2:43 to go to lift the Hurricanes to a 44-41 road win over NC State in ACC action. 

Michael Penix Jr., Indiana (30-of-50, 342 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 82.3)
Penix tallies career-highs in passing yards and touchdowns as he leads the Hoosiers to a 38-21 Big Ten win over No. 23 Michigan, Indiana’s first win over the Wolverines since 1987.

Kedon Slovis, USC (40-of-55, 381 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 83.9)
Slovis, who has a career-high in completions while tallying his sixth career 300-yard game, throws a pair of touchdowns in the final 2:52 to lead the Trojans to a 28-27 comeback win over Arizona State in their season-opener.

Kyle Trask, Florida (30-of-43, 474 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 97.4)
Trask throws for the second-most yards in Florida history and leads the Gators to 571 total yards, the most allowed by Georgia since 2001, as they come from behind for a critical 44-28 win over No. 5 Georgia in SEC play. 

Brady White, Memphis (30-of-50, 437 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 67.8)
White, who records his third career 400-yard game, throws a pair of TD passes in the final 3:19 as the Tigers rally for a 34-33 win over USF in ACC action.

Malik Willis, Liberty (20-of-30, 217 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 89.7)
Willis also runs for 108 yards (his second 100/100 game of the season) and a TD as he leads the Flames to a 38-35 road win over Virginia Tech to keep them undefeated at 7-0.

Zach Wilson, BYU (22-of-28, 360 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 90.8)
Wilson, who also runs for a touchdown, tosses a pair of third-quarter TDs to break open the Cougars’ 51-17 blowout of No. 21 Boise State on the road.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. Ten finalists will be selected and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 16 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) and the Southeastern Conference (Joe Burrow, Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) lead the way with five Manning Award honorees each, while and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) has had four Manning Award winners. LSU (Burrow and Russell) joins Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) and Texas (McCoy and Young) as the only schools with two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Seventy-one players from 65 different schools were honored during the 2019 season and 377 different quarterbacks from 127 schools have been recognized since 2011.