Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (November 9, 2015) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Brandon Allen, Arkansas (33-of-45, 442 yards, 6 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.9)
Allen registers career-highs in passing yards and touchdown and caps his impressive day by scoring on a leaping two-point conversion in overtime to lift the Razorbacks to a 53-52 victory over No. 18 Ole Miss.

Chad Kelly, Ole Miss (24-of-34, 368 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.5)
Kelly, who tallies his seventh 300-yardf game, also rushes for a career-high 110 yards and three touchdowns, but it’s not enough for the Rebels who are upended by Arkansas, 53-52, in overtime.

DeShone Kizer, Notre Dame (19-of-26, 262 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 81.2)
Kizer, who matches the school’s modern record for touchdowns accounted for, connects on a 47-yard touchdown on the game’s third play, then adds four more TD passes before running in a touchdown with 5:47 to go to ice a 42-30 victory over Pittsburgh.

Dak Prescott, Mississippi State (27-of-40, 303 yards, 4 TDs, QBR: 88.2)
Prescott, who becomes the 10th player in SEC history to tally 10,000 yards of offense, also paces the Bulldogs with 47 rushing yards as he leads a 17-point third-quarter outburst in Mississippi State’s 31-13 road victory over Missouri.

Jake Rudock, Michigan (18-of-25, 337 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 99.0)
Rudock, who posts the top QBR for the week, tallies his career-high for passing yards while also adding a rushing touchdown and a two-point conversion as he leads the Wolverines to a season-high in points in a 49-16 blowout of Rutgers.

Mason Rudolph, Oklahoma State (16-of-24, 352 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.1)
Rudolph, who connects on four touchdowns of 48 yards or longer, registers his fourth 300-yard game of the year and matches his career-high for TD passes as he leads the Cowboys to an impressive 49-29 victory over No. 8 TCU.

Jarrett Stidham, Baylor (23-of-33, 419 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 93.5)
Making his first career start, Stidham, a freshman, completes his first three passes while leading his team to an opening scoring drive and finishes with the 10th most passing yards in a game in school history as Baylor defeats Kansas State, 31-24, in Big 12 road action.

Marquise Williams, North Carolina (23-of-35, 494 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 95.6)
Williams, who also runs for a touchdown, plays just three quarters, but still sets a school record for passing yards to lead the Tar Heels to their eighth straight victory, a key ACC Coastal blow out of Duke, 66-31.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List and 10 additional quarterbacks were added to the Watch List on October 14, all quarterbacks remain eligible for the honor. The 10 finalists for the Manning Award will be announced on Wednesday, December 2 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship game on Monday, January 11.

In its first 11 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 10 different schools and from four different conferences. One of the more unique aspects of the Manning Award is the fact that it takes into account the quarterbacks bowl performances, in addition to the regular season. Ten of the 11 Manning Award winners won bowl games during the season they won the honor; the lone loss was by Colt McCoy in the 2010 BCS Championship game when he suffered an early injury. In addition to McCoy, six other Manning honorees (Matt Leinart, Vince Young, Tim Tebow, Cam Newton, Jameis Winston and Marcus Mariota) led their teams to the national championship game (BCS or CFP).

All of the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-two players from 58 different schools were honored during the 2014 season.